The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Cancer. Everybody fears it. Nobody wants it. And for those who have it, it’s all about trying to get rid of it, or extending their life. It seems most people think it’s contagious, and they stay away. Like they think they might get it. When you see a cancer book, you expect the main character to be one who never feels bad for themselves, is so brave no matter what happens, and tells inspirational speeches to everyone. First of all, that’s not most cancer patients, & second of all, it’s kind of cheesy. Well, you don’t have to worry about cheesy in this book, because that’s definitely NOT Hazel.

Hazel has had Stage IV thyroid cancer since she was twelve. It was really bad, she expected to die. But then, the tumors in her lungs shrunk at age fourteen, for no one knows how long. She is sixteen when the story takes place. She doesn’t remember what it feels like to have good lungs. She barely has any friends & she doesn’t go to high school. She has an oxygen tank she carries around with her everywhere. She has to go in to the hospital to get the fluid out of her lungs and take more medicine to shrink her tumors.

Then, Hazel meets Augustus Waters. She meets him at a cancer support group she goes to. And he’s staring at her. Just staring. Normally, Hazel would be really really creeped out, but he’s hot. No denying that. And he’s healing. Talk about a Prince Charming. A one-legged Prince Charming. The story is her journey with him. And so much more. I can’t say anymore. You’re just gonna have to read it. I would say sorry, but then again, I’m not sorry you’ll have to read this book.

The Fault in Our Stars is amazing. It’s brilliant. John Green is a genius. I don’t just mean that in the “he wrote an amazing book” kind of way. I’m serious, he’s a genius. Hazel’s conversations with Augustus are insanely brilliant. Then there’s witty humor,  consuming romance,  heart-wrenching misery. This book has it all. Everyone who read this book had told me they cried. If they hadn’t done that, I would probably not have teared up. It was totally heart-wrenching, but I didn’t feel the need to cry. Yet, I felt like I should have cried, so I worked hard to tear up. I know that sounds stupid, but that’s the truth. I guess for most people, you probably will cry.

The characters are so real. The plot is not at all predictable or cheesy. I would recommend this to everyone. It leans toward the girl audience more than the boy, but boys can read this too. I am not a cancer book person, but this time, I definitely was. (Whoa, that was intense. Like with the bold letters and everything.)

It was sad. I mean, how can it be a cancer book and happy? Is that even possible? Of course it’s gonna be sad. But, it was just too good for me to hate it. There is NO way I could ever hate this book. I mean, if I changed any part about the plot, it wouldn’t be what it is. And although it was tragic and heart-wrenching, it was such an amazing book, I don’t care. And I usually care. I would usually hate this book and complain about it being too depressing and too upsetting. But I can’t do that, because I LOVE this book. It was too amazing to hate. Too epic.

So, out of five faces,

this book gets….

*drumroll*

FIVE!

Leave a Reply

