Sign Language by Amy Ackley

When Amy Ackley came to my school to talk about her book, to be honest, I didn’t think I would ever read it. I thought it was going to be too depressing. I don’t really tend to like depressing books.

Plus, it wasn’t just any depressing book, it was a depressing cancer book. So there’s not only the scare of death and being depressed, it has the added on stress and scare of cancer. No one wants cancer. To me, it’s one of the scariest things out there.

I mean, that’s what gets me off my butt to go get some exercise and to eat healthy foods instead of that delicious donut sitting right there.

Mmmm. Yummy.

But no, I go to the fruit!

So all of that together,

not my kind of book.

But then along came a library visit, where I was desperate enough to read anything.

So I saw Sign Language, shrugged, said “Eh, what the heck” and picked it up.

I am so glad I did.


On to an overview:

The main character in this novel is Abby North. In the beginning of the book, she’s 12 years old. When I was 12 years old, I thought my parents were indestructible, and she does too. She doesn’t think anything bad could/would happen to her dad.

But what she thought was his “routine surgery” takes a long time for him to get over. Then he goes in to have more surgeries.

The light from her mother’s eyes has gone out. Smiles are a rarity. Things aren’t right. It’s worse than she thought.

Before, the worst thing in her life was her invisibility to her crush, Logan Pierce. Not anymore.

And not to mention things are getting confusing because of her feelings for her best friend and neighbor, Spence.

Her life will never be normal again, and she has to accept it. But, as you can imagine, it’s almost impossible to do.

In Sign Language, you grow up with Abby. In the beginning of the book, she was 12, at the end, she is 15. She grows through the awkward years.

This story is all about her going through grief over the death of her father. I don’t think there has ever been a more accurate tale where grief is involved. You felt like your father died too, and you were mourning with her.

The whole story, you’re cheering Abby on. You want her to find peace with her new life, and you want her to pick the right guy. This book was so amazing.

Oh, and I’m really glad to have a book take place in Michigan, considering I live there and not many books take place there.

AH. SO GOOD.

When I had finished it, I was in a car, and I wanted to run, yell, whoop, scream, and laugh at the same time.

This book was a HUGE emotional roller coaster.

 <—You felt like you were riding that roller coaster with her.

There was heart-wrenching sadness that you couldn’t bear

Yes, it’s that sad.

But, oh yes, it’s that good.

Just amazing.

So read it.

That is a command.

(That you can choose to follow or not…

your life)

So out of five faces, as you might have already guessed, this book gets…

*drumroll*

ONE!

Yeah, no way,

it’s actually…

*drumroll*

FIVE!

2 thoughts on “Sign Language by Amy Ackley

  1. I love this review! I also just recently reviewed this book as well on my blog, and we have the same thoughts! I also loved the part where you said you felt like you could yell scream and whoop about! Haha I felt the same (:

Leave a Reply

