The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Not much of this review is going to be an overview of the plot, considering most people know the plot already, because of the movies and everything on the news.

So, quickly, this is an overview of the plot in case you don’t know it:

So there’s this evil dude, President Snow, and after the world “fell apart,” he decided to take over. He decided to make 13 districts surrounding the capitol. Each district’s job is to supply the capitol with a different resource.

The capitol pretty much controls them. They can’t escape it. It’s a dystopian world.

So then, the districts decide to rebel against the capitol.

Well, that does not end well. They are crushed like little grapes.

District thirteen is destroyed, and to teach the districts a lesson, President Snow starts something called The Hunger Games!

The Hunger Games is an annual “event” that starts with the reaping. The reaping is like a big lottery where they have two giant fishbowls per district, with all the girls’ names in the district in one bowl and all the boys’ names in the district in the other bowl in between the ages 12-18. Then, in a lottery sort of fashion, a boy and girl name are each drawn out from the separate fishbowls at random. The boy and girl are now known as  tributes.

That happens in each district, and all 24 children go into an arena broadcast live to compete in a fight to the death until one victor remains.

Pleasant,

I know right?

So Katniss Everdeen is our main character here. She volunteers for her sister, Prim, when she gets picked at the reaping. And as it would be in any book where the main character is thrust into a battle to the death with 23 other kids, it gets intense.

So that was the overview of the plot. Of course there’s the whole love triangle mushy gushy stuff too, but you’ll have to read the books for that.

So I started the first book in the car. I usually get carsick when I read in the car, so:

I’ll just read the first page.

I can go to page three, no harm in that.

You know, page seven.

Only eleven.

You know what? Screw it; page 16.

And you know what happened next?

I got home.

Yes.

I did.

And then,

I had a glass of water.

And then,

I went to the bathroom.

And then,

I went upstairs and started reading.

And mind you, I didn’t plan on stopping until my neighbor came along and asked me to walk her dog with her.

I did NOT want to leave

MY BOOK

MY PRECIOUS BOOK

But, I went. Because I felt bad for her, and she was kind of yanking me.

Then,

I got back, and I continued reading.

I then finished it.

Then I ran to my Mom as fast as I could

And continued screaming.

My life felt complete.

But then, I remembered: THERE’S A SECOND ONE.

I wanted to go get that one so badly, I about peed my pants.

But I had to go to my Grandparents.

I thought I would die.

But then I got my grandparents to take me to Walmart, where I purchased Catching Fire.

We got home, and I immediately got to reading. I was nonstop until dinner, then I continued, finishing it in four hours.

My Grandma was so surprised, she said we could go return it and say it was the wrong book, and buy Mockingjay. She  was just kidding, but I kind of wished she wasn’t.

And as you imagine,

I did NOT want the third one.

Oh no, I REALLY wanted that book. BADLY. I would’ve done almost anything to get it.

But I had to wait.

So I waited in agony. It was pure torture.

For two days, all I could think was:

The Hunger Games. Katniss. Peeta. Gale. Prim. President Snow. Mockingjay. Catching Fire. The Hunger Games. Katniss. Peeta. Gale. Prim. President Snow. Mockingjay. Catching Fire. The Hunger Games. Katniss. Peeta. Gale. Prim. President Snow. Mockingjay. Catching Fire. The Hunger Games. Katniss. Peeta. Gale. Prim. President Snow. Mockingjay. Catching Fire. The Hunger Games. Katniss. Peeta. Gale. Prim. President Snow. Mockingjay. Catching Fire. The Hunger Games. Katniss. Peeta. Gale. Prim. President Snow. Mockingjay. Catching Fire. The Hunger Games. Katniss. Peeta. Gale. Prim. President Snow. Mockingjay. Catching Fire. The Hunger Games. Katniss. Peeta. Gale. Prim. President Snow. Mockingjay. Catching Fire. The Hunger Games. Katniss. Peeta. Gale. Prim. President Snow. Mockingjay. Catching Fire. 

I must have been in a haze for those around me.

But I finally had a chance to buy the third one.

So I went up to my room, closed my door, and begun.

I finished about five hours later.

I shut my book.

I looked up, and this is probably what my face looked like:

I ran to my Mom again,

And sat down

And told her everything and anything about these books. I told her every single thing about the story, from The Hunger Games to Mockingjay. I knew she would never read them, so I didn’t worry about spoilers. I just told her everything.

Then I finished, and ran back to my room.

\

These were my thoughts:

I CAN’T BE DONE.

NO WAY.

WHAT TO DO WITH MY LIFE NOW…

PEETAAA

KATNISSSS

GALEEEEE

PRIMMMM

EVERYONEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

NO WAY.

MY LIFE, NO PURPOSE. 

THAT WAS AMAZING.

YOU’RE KIDDING ME, RIGHT?

AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

The Hunger Games series has been the MOST, ahhhh, how do I put this…

Intense, epic, deep, agonizing, all-consuming, exceptional, extraordinary, stinging,  profound, powerful, piercing books in the history of all the books that I’ve read.

I was, again, emotionally wrung out. But even worse than the Titanic. Waaaaay worse.

And I went on like that, unable to sleep. Unable to go around my daily business without thinking about these books.

No other books in the history of books that I’ve read has ever affected me so much.

When Katniss lost a loved one, I did too.

When Katniss was starving, I was too (and that had nothing to do with the fact I didn’t stop to eat while reading).

When other kids died, I did too.

Just kidding.

But really, these books are amazing. I’ve never felt that much from a book. No book has ever made me think like that.

And I know I wasn’t the only one that felt this way. I called my friend and she told me she felt the same way.

It was intense.

I can’t really find a way to end this review, considering I want to do these books justice.

But before I do end this review, I must rate the series!

So out of 5 faces, these get…

*drumroll*

NOPE

NOPE I’M NOT EVEN RATING THIS BECAUSE THERE ARE NO AMOUNT OF FACES FOR THIS OK

So to end this post,

here goes,

So yes

2 thoughts on “The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

  1. Just so you know. . .you have become one of my favorite book bloggers out there, largely because of reviews like this. I love your honesty as you talk about the books. It’s refreshing. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

