Fateful by Claudia Gray

When I read the synopsis of this book, well, I laughed.

Werewolves?

Oh the Titanic?

Hahahahahaha. Oops…

That’s gotta be fun. Not like the Titanic really needed some extra fun. I mean, I can understand a story about a couple on the Titanic. Like Jack and Rose. But um, a rich hunk-a-chunk-a werewolf and a poor human maid? Not so much. And like most paranormal love stories, she felt some special connection to the werewolf.

Girl: Why do I feel a pull? Why do his eyes show such emotion? Why is my heart-racing? Why is this man causing my insides to implode? Why is he so hot? Omg, he’s really hot.

Guy: Man, she is something. She’s hot. I could stare at her all day. Why do I feel a special connection? This is more than a crush. Why me? Why her?

Girl: Is this just me?

Guy: Is this just me?

Me: *Eyeroll* YOU GUYS BOTH LIKE EACH OTHER. JUST KISS AND GET OVER WITH IT ALREADY.

If I ever fall in love with a werewolf on a ship fated to sink, I would go ahead and express my feelings. But that’s very unlikely, considering I’m never going on a cruise. (Thank you Titanic movie)

This book is about a very human girl, who’s a maid working for an evil family. Seriously evil. She goes on the Titanic prepared to quit her job as soon as they get to America. Then-enter romance-she’s swept off her feet by Alec. A very werewolf boy. Man. Whatever, same thing.

They fall in love. They have all these issues though. Like the Brotherhood, some evil werewolf corporation thing, is trying to get Alec to join them. But that would be very very bad.

And the whole time, I’m practically screaming:

YOUR SHIP IS GOING TO SINK SUCKERS. YOU BETTER WATCH OUT. YOU ALL GON’ DIE. THAT’S RIGHT.

But of course, no one listens to me. Oh well, not my problem.

And unlike the movie, this sinking happens really fast. It’s not 3/4s of the book, like in the movie it is.  One second: Oh no, this ship is going to sink. Then the next: They’re over it, and they all survive. Back to werewolf issues.

Oh, guess what? It may seem like I didn’t write anything, but I did say what happens, I just made it white font. I can’t give it away for you. Just read it, or not. I don’t really care. And you won’t be missing out on a whole lot.

So yeah, this book was mediocre. Predictable, especially for the fact that the Titanic sinks and everybody knows it. I just can’t stand knowing that 3/4s of the people I’m reading about are gonna die. I mean, the whole time, I know they are dead meat. So that was kind of depressing.

But besides that, this was ok.

So I’m going to rate this….

Out of five faces…

*drumroll*

THREE!

Leave a Reply

