Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

You know what these books made me do? They made me go through my entire library of books on Goodreads (a LOT of books) and change 99% of the books I rated 5 stars to lower numbers. I mean, if 5 stars is the highest amount of stars I can give a book, and Harry Potter was immeasurably better than any of those I rated 5 stars, then none of those deserve 5 stars. I used to think that if you rated anything under 5 stars, it was an insult, but changing all my ratings made me realize that’s not true.  I can still really like a book with 4 stars. I didn’t keep many of my five star ratings. My old five star ratings were mostly changed. And even the books I kept five stars don’t even compare to Harry Potter. I know I said The Hunger Games was my favorite series, but as much as it pains me to say this…I…no, I can’t. I’m not finishing that. I still love The Hunger Games, don’t even think about getting me wrong there. I just…I…no..I..must..can’t..GRR….I can’t. I can’t finish that sentence. I’m sorry. I just never thought the day would come when…I…day…come…when…I…can’t…say….it…must…say….it….

I LIKE HARRY POTTER MORE THAN THE HUNGER GAMES.

*Cries out and puts head in hands*

THERE I SAID IT.

My whole world is off kilter. My mind is spinning. This can’t happen. I can’t like a book more than…more than The Hunger Games. It’s…it’s..impossible… No. I can’t..but, but…I DO. I DO. I LIKE HARRY POTTER MORE.

*Cries out in pain again*

I JUST SAID IT AGAIN. I CAN’T…THE PAIN…THE HORRIBLE PAIN…NO…IMPOSSIBLE…but..but, I just..I can’t deny it..

I’m done denying it. Done. But…but..NO. DONE DENYING. I do. I do. I like Harry Potter more.

In fact, I’m scared to write this review. I mean, it would make it official, but…but, I’m gonna do it. It’s official.  I’m going to publish this….Ok ok. Chill out me. Chill. out.

Wait…NO. NO. THEY ARE TIED. OK. THEY ARE TIED. I JUST CAN’T, CAN’T COMPARE THEM. OK. THEY’RE MY TWO FAVORITE BOOKS. COMPLETELY DIFFERENT. NO COMPARING THEM. OK. ok. ok.

Ok. Ok, so I must explain why this book is so…spectacularly wonderfully amazingly brilliantly genius. And why I love these books. Let’s begin.

First of all, these books are the epitome of unpredictable. If anyone ever guessed what would happen and was right, well then, I have unlimited respect for this person. But I would bet a million dollars that no one ever guessed and got the whole thing right. Even when you think you have it right, you only get the basic idea. Like if you think that so-and-so are going to survive some battle, and they do, even if you guessed right about them surviving, you would never ever never ever never be able to guess how. Or why. I’ve said John Green is a genius. I’ve called Suzanne Collins a genius. I’ve called a whole lot of authors geniuses, but saying any one of them is more genius than J.K. Rowling is just..a no. A big no.

Second of all, the writing. I was with Harry. I was with Voldemort. I was with Severus Snape. I was with Dumbledore.

Wait no. Screw that. I was Harry. I was Voldemort. I was Snape. I was Dumbledore. When Harry hated the Dursleys, I hated the Dursleys. When Harry hated Voldemort, I hated Voldemort. I didn’t go as far as hating who Voldemort hated, but I felt the anger. I felt every tear drop. I felt every back stab. I felt every speck of happiness. I felt the jealousy, the love, the hate.

I have never, mark that, never read a book like that. With other books, I might have felt most emotions, but I wasn’t bubbling over with anger when my “friend” betrayed me. I wasn’t whooping with joy when the hero/heroine killed the bad tough guy. No, most books aren’t like that. At all. If you thought you’ve read a book where you though you felt like the main character. Well sorry to tell you this, but you haven’t. Not until you’ve read Harry Potter.

Third of all, these books are just genius. I have no way of telling you how genius they are. If you think about what it would have been like to write a book like this, it seems impossible. How J.K. Rowlings did it, I will never know. Every single detail is neatly tied in a bow. No loose ends. She knew what she was doing. If you think about it, to make a man as smart as Dumbledore seem real, you have to be as smart as him, if not smarter. Then Voldemort. Yeah, he was evil. Very evil, but you have to admit he has some serious brains. That means so does J.K. Rowling. I mean, think about it. Would an idiot be able to write about a genius and make it believable the way J.K. Rowling did? No way.

Fourth of all, the inspiration. I want to write a book, but I just can’t decide what it should be about. I need inspiration. I was totally planning on writing a dystopian book, but after reading this…screw that! Fantasy all the way! Forget the post-apocalyptic, world-has-gone-mad stuff. Don’t get me wrong, I still love dystopian, but I want to write a series like these. These books slapped me awake. I haven’t read a series this refreshing for so long.

I read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone  in one day. Thoughts:

This book is so smart. Really smart. I really want the second one.

I read Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets in one day. Thoughts:

Again. Smart. Very. Not predictable at all.

I read Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban in one day. Thoughts:

Starting to get more intense. Harry’s getting older. Aw, I remember when he was just ten years old… Bigger problems, more complex minds. Smart book.

I read Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire in one day also. Thoughts:

Did I say smart? LOL, scratch that. Genius is the word.

I read Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix in a day and 3/4s. Thoughts:

Did I say genius? Scratch THAT. Brilliant. It’s brilliant. And amazing. And intense, like piss-your-pants kind of intense.

I read Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince in a day and a half. Thoughts:

OOOH MAI! I’M GONNA BE LIKE A ZOMBIE WHEN I FINISH THIS SERIES. WHAT AM I GOING TO DO WITH MY LIFE? THIS IS TOO AMAZING. TOO AMAZING. I’M…I’M SCARED…

I finished the series with Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Thoughts:

I COULD..I COULD DIE, DIE RIGHT NOW. AND BE PERFECTLY HAPPY. THIS…THIS…I…JUST..I JUST READ A MASTERPIECE…MYLIFEHASBEENCOMPLETED

image

And for those who think they are getting the most out of watching the movies, I laugh. Oh yes. I laugh at you.

Well no. Maybe I should pity you. Ok, ok. I pity you. I’m sorry for you. If you think that the movies are just as good as the books, again, I laugh. And I pity you. You can NOT say you’re a Harry Potter fan if you haven’t read the books. I didn’t see any of the movies until I read the books. That’s how it should be. As good as the movies are, it’s not the book. It’s just not. And it can’t be. If you watched the movies and know what happens, I’m sorry to tell you that you will never be able to fully experience these books. I’m sorry, but there’s nothing we can do for you.

Going back to what I said at the top, if you see changes around the blog like different ratings or things like that, you can thank Harry Potter. That’s right. These were so good I’m going to comb through my blog and change things. And that is NOT fun, but oh well. I’ll do it.

FOR HARRY!

Now I suppose I should rate these, but it just seems to mundane. These books deserve better. Ok, I’m not going to put any faces because I would rate these in infinite faces, and I don’t want to paste an infinite number of those. So know, these books have an unlimited number of faces.

Now, I’m going to say a few words comparing these to The Hunger Games. So, when I read Mockingjay, I wanted to drop dead. I felt drained. I didn’t see the purpose of going on in life if it was going to end like this. But when I read the last book of these, I did not feel the need to drop dead. Oh no. I wanted to live. To proclaim my love for these books. To write books that I can only hope with be half as good as these. That may be one of the biggest factors why I like this series more.

Every time I used to mention that I have never read Harry Potter, everyone looked at me and said:

“HOW CAN YOU NOT HAVE READ HARRY POTTER?”

“YOU’VE READ EVERYTHING, BUT YOU HAVEN’T READ HARRY POTTER? WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU?”

It was really annoying, and well I never understood it.

But now, oh now, I absolutely positively no-doubt-about it-ly do.

Leave a Reply

