Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

Twilight (Twilight, #1)

Twilight? I know right? Me, reading this? It doesn’t seem very characteristic for me.

I even thought so, reading a few of the reviews on this book. But hey, I was at the library, searching desperately for something to read. The library was closing in five minutes and I needed to pick something. Anything. So I saw Twilight, just sitting there on the shelf, and I was like “Eh, whatever,” and I picked it up and checked it out. I brought it home, and two days later (today), I woke up and decided to read it. I wanted to be unbiased. I wanted to read it with a clean slate so that if I truly liked it, I would know. So I tried to push out of my mind the hate and jokes about the movie. Because honestly, all those people who hate Twilight are basing their judgement on the movie they haven’t even seen. For those few who actually did read the book, there were more fans than haters. I tried to focus on the fans. So I cleared my mind and started.

And what I was looking for was the famous line:

Bella: “You’re impossibly fast. And strong. You’re skin is pale white and ice cold, your eyes change color, and sometimes you speak…like you’re from a different time. You never eat or drink anything and you never go out in the sun light. I know what you are.”
Edward: “Say it. Out loud. Say it.”
Bella: “Vampire.”

(or something like that…)

And so I’m looking for that. Next thing I know, I’m done with the book and that famous line never even happened. What the heck?

Honestly, when she finds out he’s a vampire, she’s pretty chill about it. They could be talking about having picnics and frolicking in the sun on a warm summer day.You wanna hear the quote from when she finds out he’s a vampire? And it’s not even finding out here.  It’s her telling him her suspicions and him confirming them.

To set up the scene: Bella is in the car with Edward. He’s driving. She’s telling him one of her theories for what he is. She’s embarrassed by it so she’s started with how she came across it. Here goes:

“Enough commentary on my driving,” he snapped. “I’m still waiting for your latest theory.” I bit my lip. He looked down at me, his honey eyes unexpectedly gentle.

“I won’t laugh,” he promised. 

“I’m more afraid you’ll be angry with me.”

“Is it that bad?”

“Pretty much, yeah.”

He waited. I was looking down at my hands so I couldn’t see his expression.

“Go ahead.” His voice was calm.

“I don’t know where to start,” I admitted.

“Why don’t you start at the beginning. . . you said you didn’t come up with this on your own.”

“No.”

“What got you started — a book? A movie?” He probed. 

“No — it was Saturday, at the beach.” I risked a glance up at his face. He looked puzzled. “I ran into an old family friend — Jacob Black.” I continued. “His dad and Charlie have been friends since I was a baby.”

He still  looked confused.

“His dad is one of the Quileute elders.” I watched him carefully. His confused expression froze in place. “We went for a walk–” I edited all  of my scheming out of the story “–and he was telling me some old legends — trying to scare me, I think. He told me one. . .” I hesitated.

“Go on,” he said.

“About vampires.” I realized I was whispering. I couldn’t look at his face now. But I saw his knuckles tighten convulsively on the wheel.

“And you immediately thought of me?” Still calm.

“No. He. . . mentioned your family.” He was silent, staring at the road. I was worried suddenly, worried about Jacob. “He just thought it was a silly superstition,” I said quickly. “He didn’t expect me to think anything of it.” It didn’t seem like enough; I had to confess. “It was my fault, I forced him to tell me.”

“Why?”

“Lauren said something about you — she was trying to provoke me. And an older boy from the tribe said your family didn’t come to the reservation, only it sounded like he meant something different. So I got Jacob alone and I tricked  it out of him.”

SKIPPING A PARAGRAPH OF UNIMPORTANT STUFF. But seriously, I’m skipping it because it’s annoying to type something already written, and this has nothing to do with proving my point.

“What did you do then?” he asked after a minute.

“I did some research on the internet.”

“And did that convince you?” His voice sounded barely interested. But his hands were clamped hard onto the steering wheel.

“No, nothing fit. Most of it was kind of silly. And then. . .” I stopped.

“What?”

“I decided it didn’t matter,” I whispered.

“It didn’t matter?” His tone made me look up — I had finally broken through his carefully composed mask. His face was incredulous, with just a hint of the anger I’d feared.

“No,” I said softly. “It doesn’t matter to me what you are.”

SKIPPING ANOTHER PARAGRAPH. Pretty much consists of him getting mad she doesn’t care what he is.

“I’m right?” I gasped.

“Does it matter?”

I took a deep breath.

“Not really.” I paused. “But I am curious.” My voice, at least, was composed.

He was suddenly resigned. “What are you curious about?”

“How old are you?”

“Seventeen,” he answered promptly.

“And how long have you been seventeen?”

His lips twitched as he stared at the road. “A while,” he admitted at last.

So there you have it folks, Edward Cullen is a big bad vampire! And that cheesy snippet of conversation doesn’t even happen! I mean, I think it happens in the movie… I don’t know though, because I watched the movie a long time ago. That’s why I don’t like when books are turned into movies most of the time, they change the words. And those up there are some pretty important words to the plot, in my opinion.

And even though I tried not to be biased reading this, I did expect it to be cheesy. I can’t help that. But honestly, it wasn’t. The movie might be, (I need to re-watch that) but the book definitely isn’t. The movie had a lot of different parts. Most of the stuff in the movie when they were talking in the forest happened in a car. And at different times. I honestly did NOT like the movie, but the book was really good.

Oh, did I skip a synopsis? I mean, it’s pretty obvious if you ask me, but if you honestly don’t know what this book is about, I’ll tell you.

A girl moves to Forks (funny name, yes), where it’s always rainy, to stay with her dad. She meets this hot dude at school. Now, she’s honest to herself, which is wonderful because I’m honest with myself too and like when the people in books are, and she realizes eventually she’s in love with him. And that he’s a vampire. And that some part of him wants to bite her neck and drink all that blood up. Pleasant.

I mean, honestly, it’s one of the quotes. You ready for this?

About three things I was absolutely positive.

First, Edward was a vampire.

Second, there was a part of him– and I didn’t know how potent that part may be– that thirsted for my blood.

And third, I was unconditionally and irrevocably in love with him.

So pretty much it’s hard for a human to be with a vampire. So they’re star crossed lovers and all that. But don’t worry, this isn’t just a romance book. There’s vampire action too. But still, definitely NOT a guy book. Unless said guy likes vampires and romance novels, and I have yet to find such a guy.

Was this book for me?

I guess so. I enjoyed it. I was happy for one thing: this book had morals. I hate when I read a vampire book and there are no morals so it’s not only vampire-ish and mushy, but also trashy. I’m going to continue on with the series. I have the feeling the books will become more intense as they go on. I really did have fun reading this though, and I thought it was written pretty well.

Now, I am seriously scared about how to tell my friends I read this. They are all biased on what all the people say who have no proof to go with their opinion. I mean, personally, I think a person should read a book before judging it. Maybe that’s just me.

So, kids, what was the moral of the story? This: Don’t get opinionated without reading the book yourself!

My rating out of five stars is…

*drumroll*

FOUR!

And this video is really funny. It’s Movies in Minutes – Twilight. By Nigahiga. Of course it’s just about what happened in the movie, the book is a LOT different, but it’s funny: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=goix7jFXD9Q

One thought on “Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

Leave a Reply

