Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris – until she meets Etienne St. Clair: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home. As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near – misses end with the French kiss Anna – and readers – have long awaited?

Here’s my synopsis:

Some girl is forced to go to boarding school in Paris. She’s all upset. Then she meets a hot boy and BAM, ENSUE ANNOYING OBSESSIVENESS OF HOT GUY.

Yes. That’s my synopsis. Let me tell you how Anna runs into St. Clair for the first time. Wait, I just said it. She legitly (that’s not a word…) runs in to him. She walks out of some girl’s room and then smacks right into him. And as any girl in this kind of book would do. She stares, then she blushes, then she says something stupid, then she starts rambling, more blushing, then he leaves, and finally, she blushes some more. If I ran into an attractive British guy, I would…well I don’t know. I’ve never ran into an attractive British guy. But if I did, hypothetically, I would, hypothetically, say “sorry” and keep walking. That’s it. That’s all there is to it, no stuttering. Maybe a little bit of staring, hypothetically.  I don’t know. But what I do know is that I would not make myself look like an idiot the way Anna did. I mean, maybe, just maybe, running into attractive guys takes away your ability to act casual. But I wouldn’t know. I would hope I wouldn’t act like she did. But I’m gonna bet that I wouldn’t act that way. So next time I run into some attractive British dude, I’ll remember to take notes on what I’m acting like.

Moving on.

I like Anna’s humor. I mean, I hate the way her “breath catches in my throat at the sight of him.” Please, can we get a little more cheesy in here? And even if that’s something that happens, it just makes her seem pathetic.

Then, she is SO STUPID. He’s OBVIOUSLY flirting with you. This is how it goes:

St. Clair: So you still like that guy from back home?

Anna: I don’t know.

St. Clair: Well, do you still talk to him?

Anna: A little.

St. Clair: Well, there you have your answer.

Anna: What? Well…I don’t know… *Wonders why he’s asking her these weird questions*

St. Clair: Well…

Anna: I GOTTA GO

St. Clair: Um, ok, but if you weren’t doing anythi-

Anna: BYE *Runs out* Why was he being weird like that? Why did he look disappointed when I left? Ugh, so confusing.

Me: YOU IDIOT. IT’S CALLED “HITTING ON YOU.” Dang, she’s stupid… *facepalm*

That’s how it went. It’s pathetic, how does she not realize it? There are many conversations that follow suit. I mean, COME ON ANNA. THINK A LITTLE. Well, St. Clair could step up a little on his part. But still.

Besides Anna being stupid, I have to say, the romance was pretty alluring. I wanted to know what happened really really badly. I was in pain any second I wasn’t reading this book. I was at camp, so I couldn’t read for long periods of time. I eventually started bringing it along with me so I could read any second I had a chance. I was stuck to this book. And when I finished, I was sad it was over. I really did enjoy this. As predictable as it was, and as annoyed I usually get reading predictable books, I decided I liked it anyway.

See, my view was changed because I was talking to a friend who also likes books, and she said how much she liked Sarah Dessen books (which are a lot like this book) and I told her why I didn’t like them. Mainly because they’re predictable and the same. She agreed, but she also said she read the books anyway and liked them. I’m not exactly sure how to explain what that meant in my opinion, but I’ll try. So pretty much I realized that I was reading her books for something unpredictable, even though I knew that it would be very predictable. That made me realize I wouldn’t enjoy it unless I was looking for a sweet romance story. I was reading her books for the wrong reason. That changes my opinion on a lot of books. Including this one. So I read this book with an open mind and loved it.

It was cute, it was sweet,  it was enticing. Definitely a GIRL book. A teenage girl book. I think 8th grade might be OK, but it’s a little more for girls in high school because of some of the things that were implied or just said. I mean, it’s sad how this generation knows things they shouldn’t at their age. When I was in 6th grade, I played with dolls. Now, these girls play with their phones and go on Facebook and have “boyfriends.” I just got a FB, and I don’t even go on that often. When I was in 3rd grade, my most prized possessions were my Barbies. Now, the 3rd graders love their iTouch and their “boyfriend.” It’s SO sad…

….

That had absolutely nothing to do with the book…

…Sorry about that. But my point is that it should just be for highschoolers, but I’m guessing 6th graders would read it and understand all the implications.

So, ANYWAYS, I really enjoyed this book, and recommend it to highschoolers.

So I’m just going to rate this book out of five faces.

This book gets…

*drumroll*

FOUR!

Leave a Reply

