The Pledge by Kimberly Derting

The Pledge (The Pledge, #1)

In Ludania, people are divided by class. The lower the class, the less languages you know. The lowest class only knows Englaise. Each class higher knows one more language.  Looking someone in the eye while they speak a language of a higher class than you results in death.

Charlie is in the merchant class. The merchant class knows two languages, Englaise and Parshon.

Charlie has a  secret.  She can understand all the other languages. She was never taught, she just understands. Other people knowing could result in her death…if they turned her in. They probably would. Since now, it’s  brother turning on sister, parent turning on child. But Charlie isn’t worried about her parents. If there’s anyone she trusts, it’s them. They’ve kept her secret since she figured it out.  She has to be careful. No one can know she understands. There have been a few close calls. Her parents sacrificed much to save her from those close calls.

Oh, romance time. Almost forgot about Max..my bad. So the only places Charlie ever feels safe, where she can be herself and not worry about languages and breaking the laws, are the clubs. One night, at a new club, she runs into Max, a guy she had seen earlier at her parent’s restaurant. She’s attracted to him, but she’s not used to those feelings. He frustrates her. No ones ever affected her the way he has. The next thing she knows, he’s everywhere. Walking her home from school, at the restaurant. But she’s resistant to give in to her foreign emotions. Who is he anyway? And why does he affect her like that?

Charlie begins to realize something bigger’s going on. She knows it’s not right that she understands the languages, but she doesn’t know why or how. Things begin to fall in place as she realizes she might not really be on the Queen’s side.

So this book was a dystopia with a fantasy twist.

I know right? Fantasy? With dystopia? That’s just weird. And it would be. It would also be weird for there to be a Queen, but honestly, Kimberly Derting knew what she was doing. I’m the kind of person that associates Queens and monarchy with old, medieval fantasy books. But I was able to adapt easily. I got used to the idea. The first section actually had me gaping, surprised. What happened was very unexpected. It was an intense, evil twist. It was sick, but it made everything even more intense. If it was just an evil Queen ruling, I wouldn’t have wanted an uprising as badly. I thought it was a very creative idea.

I thought The Pledge was very good. Charlie was an OK main character. I liked how she’d risk anything to save her little sister. I even felt like I needed to protect her sister too. She was a little annoying when it came to Max though. But I do have to give props to her for not being a pathetic loser like Bella from Twilight. She didn’t latch on, didn’t swoon the first second. I can’t stand girls like that (No offense Bella).

Max was an awesome dude. I mean, they always are, right? What kind of love story would it be if the guy was a sucky wimp? No worries there, Max was a strong, dependable, safe, attractive guy. The only thing though is I never understood how old he was. It seemed like he was a creeper 25-year-old hitting on a teenager at first. Later Charlie did say something about him being only a couple years older than her.

If I was a pessimist..and I might be, I just don’t want to think I am…I could come up with many more bad things about this book. But I won’t try to. I’ll list some good things. Like the fact that it was a creative society. There’s been dystopians on many things…looks, money, power, but languages is something new. And she could’ve gone the wrong way and made it stupid, but it wasn’t stupid.  Kimberly’s writing was very enticing. The ending was satisfying, and left space for a sequel, which is coming soon. I was smiling when I finished this book. I think it was intense, enjoyable, original, and pleasant.

Out of five faces…I give The Pledge

*drumroll*

FOUR!

Leave a Reply

