Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Thirteen Reasons Why

Hannah Baker committed suicide. Two weeks later, Clay Jensen comes home to find a box of tapes on his front door. He’s excited. I mean, who isn’t excited to find a package just for them? It could be anything…money, gifts, clothes. But it wasn’t any of those. No, when Clay Jensen opens the box, he finds seven tapes. Yes, tapes, not CDs, not an iPod. Seven tapes. He knows he has an old tape player in the garage. He sticks the tape in, and presses play.

“Hello, boys and girls. Hannah Baker here. Live and in ste-

No, I don’t believe it.

No return engagements. No encore. And this time, absolutely no requests.

No, I can’t believe it. Hannah Baker killed herself. 

I hope you’re ready, because I’m about to tell you the story of my life. More specifically, why my life ended. And if you’re listening to these tapes, you’re one of the reasons why.

What? No!

I’m not saying which tape brings you into the story. But fear not, if you received this lovely little box, your name will pop up…I promise. Now, why would a dead girl lie? Hey! That sounds like a joke. Why would a dead girl lie?

Answer: Because she can’t stand up.”

This story takes place in the time-span of one-and-a-half days. Really, all it is, is Clay Jensen listening to seven tapes. But then again, it’s more than that.

This book can either speak to someone in Hannah’s position, or Clay’s position. If you’re in Hannah’s position, you’ll see her mistakes. You’ll see how she didn’t reach out enough. For someone even considering thinking about suicide, this book can help you. It’ll help you to not give up, like Hannah did. (Because never EVER is there going to be a situation where someone doesn’t care if you live or die. Even if you think there is, there NEVER is, because I will always care, even if I don’t know you.) If you are in Hannah’s position, just DON’T GIVE UP.

If you’re in Clay’s position, you’ll learn how everything you do can affect someone. Whether you know it or not, whether on purpose or not. After reading this book, I smiled to everyone in the halls at school. I made sure to say nice things. I stopped gossiping as much (still working on that one…)

If you can read this book and not be affected at ALL, not be upset over Hannah’s death, or just the thought of suicide, well, I don’t know what to say to you…Maybe I would just say

That can’t even be possible. You can’t read this book and feel nothing, no no no you CAN’T.

I’m not in Hannah’s position, so this wasn’t a life-changing, soul finding experience. This book opened my eyes  to how I can affect others, but it wasn’t something I could extremely relate to.

Honestly, I kind of want someone like Hannah to come around so I can just NOT give up on them. So many kids just walked out when Hannah told them to leave. I would’ve stayed, and I want a situation to come around so I can stay. So I can force them to talk to me, to not give up.

I’ve never been in a situation where someone was bullied like I hear about, but I want to be, because I want to stand up for said person. Same with this, I want to save a life. I do. Maybe this is saving someone’s life reading this right now. Well, not right right now, because I’m writing this right right now, but you know what I mean. I would LOVE it if this gave someone hope, let someone know I care, even if I don’t know you.

My brother was in his eighth grade year at school when a classmate committed suicide. It was a shock. It was traumatizing, even for me, even though I was two grades lower and had only seen the kid, never talked to him. The whole class suffered, the whole class was affected. I wonder if the boy thought it wouldn’t make a difference to them. I wonder if he thought it would blow over in a week. Well, to him, and to you in his position, it didn’t. No one has gotten over it, and no one ever will. I still feel pain three years later, and I had never said a word to this boy.

So I guess this review got off track a little, but I had to say that in case anyone in Hannah’s position is reading this.

So to anyone in Clay’s position: BE NICE, PLAY NICE. EVERYTHING YOU DO CAN AFFECT SOMEONE. Keep that in mind.

To anyone in Hannah’s position: DON’T. GIVE. UP. Someone always cares. You’re NOT alone.

Back to the book…

I really liked this book. It had a very creative, original way of telling the story. Two different types of people could get something out of it, not just one. And also, this book may seem sad, depressing. And it was, but read it anyway. I’d recommend it to highschoolers mainly because it had a really intense theme. I didn’t want to read this at first because it’s about suicide, but it’s worth it, and I’m glad I did.

So out of five books, I shall rate this book…

*drumroll*

FOUR!

Leave a Reply

