The Summer Series by Jenny Han

The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer, #1)It's Not Summer Without You (Summer, #2)We'll Always Have Summer (Summer, #3)

Here’s the synopsis of The Summer I Turned Pretty (First book):

Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer–they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one terrible and wonderful summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.

So, I read other reviews, and this is what I gather and think:

-There’s a love, not triangle, that’s right, there’s a love SQUARE. A FREAKING LOVE SQUARE.

-I NEED TO READ THIS

-Belly? What kind of name is that?

-MUST READ THIS.

-That title doesn’t sound superficial or anything…

So on to review.

Reading the first book, there of course is a love square. I just can’t get over that. SO let’s examine the boys, shall we?

CAM

He’s this guy she meets at some party. THE END.

I’m just kidding, I’m sure there might have been some girl somewhere that actually liked this kid. It might take years and years of searching, but she’s out there, I know it. So at this party, right? Belly feels all awkward, then she sees him drinking water.So she makes eye contact, then looks away. And boy, I was dying at this point. They were actually…MAKING EYE CONTACT?! *gasp* Then Belly decides to grow up a little and go talk to him. Cam apparently is this sweet guy who doesn’t eat meat, doesn’t drink. There whole relationship is awkward. Ooops, excuse me, I meant to say that it was dreamy and everything a girl wants! Cam is just a Prince Charming! And handsome, and just oh so chivalrous!

*Cough cough* HAHAHAHAHA *cough* Pffffft *cough*

Back to Cam, he’s actually taller than Conrad! That just means so much to Belly, doesn’t it? Why wouldn’t it?

JEREMIAH

Jeremiah has been one of Belly’s BESTIES since forever! He’s sweet, kind, can always put a smile on Belly’s face, and understands Belly like no one else. He’s apparently hot stuff. I mean, all the guys have to be. I don’t know what else to really say about him. He can be summed up in those words. He’s the typical nice guy who understands the girl like nobody’s business.

CONRAD

Conrad and Jeremiah are brothers, right? But of course, they couldn’t be more different! Conrad’s silent and brooding. He notices everything. He never paid Belly any kind of romantical attention, but Belly’s been in love with him since she was ten years old. It’s TOTALLY understandable to see why she likes him. Why wouldn’t she? He’s always been a jerk to her, led her on then cut her off, always broken her heart. HOW could anyone not be attracted to that? It blows my mind to think that someone wouldn’t fall in love with a guy who acts like that. BLOWS my mind, just blows it!

There you have it, those are the boys in the love triangle. Let’s examine the girl now!

BELLY

Belly, now Belly, she’s a wonderful girl. She’s so caught up in her guy problems, she doesn’t even take a second glance at her mom’s best friend’s (Jeremiah and Conrad’s mom) cancer, or her parent’s divorce. She’s just so…so selfless! So courageous! What a wonderful girl.

All sarcasm aside, I can relate to Belly in a few ways:

1. She’s become very self-defensive (even violent) because she was raised around a bunch of boys that would tease her and chase her and hurt her (in the typical “sybling way”). I was also raised around a family of boys who would dangle my dolls off of balconies, and would always gang up against me and tease me. That’s why I became defensive and not sensitive.

2. She brought her friend to the beach house once, Taylor, and her friend was very flirty and made everything all about her. I’ve been through the same thing (minus beach house and two hot family friends) and reacted the same way. So I related on that level.

Is that it? Is that the only way I related to her? I guess so…I mean the first one is a big one, but the second not as much.

These books were OK, I mean, the romance was STUPID. If I hate love TRIANGLES, then I can’t put into words how I feel about love SQUARES. After reading the last book, it did end up how I wanted it to, but the journey to get there was excrutiating. Belly was being dumb, Jeremiah was being dumb, Conrad was being dumb, and no one cares about Cam. Everyone is just so STUPID in this series! The guys really needed to man up, Belly really needed to stop being pathetic. Honestly, if I was Conrad in the first book, I’d want to get a restraining order or something, because if she liked him any more, she’d be all like:

MAKE ME YOUR SLAVE CONRAD. I’LL MAKE YOU SAMMICHES AND EVERYTHING WILL BE PURFUCT.

Belly reminded my of Bella from Twilight, Conrad reminded me of Will from Clockwork Prince, and Jeremiah reminded me of Jem from Clockwork Prince.

I could say more about the story, but WAIT, I actually couldnt, why? Because it was a romance book, with cancer, and divorce squished in between. So I told you my opinion on the romance. What’s left? I don’t want to review cancer or divorce. I mean, I think the author could’ve maybe went into that grief and regret more, to make us feel it. Because honestly, I didn’t feel Belly like I wanted to. This series had the potential to be something more than an annoying love square. It could be a relatable, honest, tear-jerking, soul-finding, heart-breaking, life-changing story. If only Jenny Han made us feel grief, if she made us tear up. She could’ve made our hearts break over divorce. She could’ve even had the love story effect us more.

I don’t know, maybe I was looking too deeply into a light book. But you really can’t put cancer and divorce and call it a light-hearted book, so my rating goes lower because of what was not there. Because of the potential story put to waste.

This series was…I don’t know the word.. I couldn’t stop reading because I just had to know who Belly picked, and what happened. I have to give Jenny props for making us read until the end. Right after I finished the first book, I just bought the second, read it, and the next day, I bought the third. It was twenty dollars put to waste, because I could’ve just rented them from the library. But I just could. NOT. wait. I couldn’t. I NEEDED to see Belly make peace, find peace, and pick the right guy. So as much as there were SO many things that bothered me, this book did really affect me. I read it and knew I had to review it. Usually, books I know I have to review affect me more. Sometimes, I don’t read a book that really affects me but because I haven’t posted in a while, I had to force a review out. But not this book. The review came easily and I knew I had to write it.

Out of five faces, this series gets…

*drumroll*

THREE!

 

Leave a Reply

