The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #2)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WARNING: THIS THE SECOND BOOK IN THE MARA DYER SERIES. SO TO GIVE YOU A SYNOPSIS OF THIS ONE KIND OF RUINS THE WHOLE FIRST BOOK. BUT I’M GOING TO WRITE THIS REVIEW ANYWAYS OTHERWISE I MIGHT DIE INSIDE SLOWLY BECAUSE OF ALL MY FEELS. 

(Ok that is a really creepy picture. Oookkk. You get the point)

Here’s the legit synopsis for this book:

Mara Dyer once believed she could run from her past.

She can’t.

She used to think her problems were all in her head.

They aren’t.

She couldn’t imagine that after everything she’s been through, the boy she loves would still be keeping secrets.

She’s wrong.

In this gripping sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, the truth evolves and choices prove deadly. What will become of Mara Dyer next?

Now considering that tells everyone…NOTHING, I’ll give my own synopsis so you don’t throw your computer against the wall like I wanted to.

This book pretty much left off right where The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer ended. Starting this book, I didn’t remember anything from the first one. I got the first one confused with Hush, Hush for some reason. So anyways, Mara’s in a hospital and they all think she’s crazy because she had a mental breakdown saying that Jude is alive, her should-be-dead-EX-boyfriend who (should’ve) died in a building collapse started by Mara. That’s a different story though. We’ll get back to that one. So the whole novel her whole family thinks she’s psycho. Scratch that, EVERYONE thinks she’s psycho. Except for Noah *FANGIRL SQUEAL* *DYING…DYING…DEAD* I’m sorry, it’s just…NOAH’S SO AMAZING. But we’ll get back to him later too! So she’s trying to stay home and not get stuck in an insane asylum. But that’s hard considering Jude is alive and stalking her. Killing animals, writing things in blood…he’s doing everything he can to scare her. Honestly, if I were her, I would’ve pissed my pants many MANY times in this novel.

If you were confused in the first book, YOU WILL FIND ANSWERS IN THE SECOND. That’s what I LOVE about this book. Most sequels piss me off because they just confuse me more and agitate me more. But not this one! This series is like a huge puzzle and each book helps me fit more pieces together. And I just feel so SATISFIED.

Oh NOAH, LET’S TALK ABOUT NOAH. Ok, this DUDE HE JUST, AAHHH, HE’S ONE OF THE BEST GUYS IN BOOKS EVER. He’s so HOT. EVERYTHING ABOUT HIM IS HOT.

I DON’T CARE IF HE DOESN’T EXIST. First of all his physical attractiveness is amazing (in my mind at least..and Mara’s. And everyone else in the book), then his ACCENT, HE’S BRITISH. HEAR THAT WORLD? HE’S BRITISH.

imageimage

*SWOONING*

Ok, then his personality. He loves Mara SO MUCH. He’s amazingly loyal. He’s perfectly flawed. You’ll have to read the book to find out why…And he’s sooo sweet when he wants to be.

YOU KNOW ANOTHER THING I ABSOLUTELY LOVED ABOUT THIS BOOK? MARA DIDN’T ANNOY ME AND SHE DIDN’T GET INTO STUPID FIGHTS ABOUT STUPID THINGS WITH NOAH.

There was this one point when Mara read Noah’s journal and in another book, the characters would have gotten into a BIG fight. I mean HUGE. The girl wouldn’t have told the boy that she read the journal and then it would’ve been terrible when he found out. But because Mara’s SMART, she told Noah RIGHT AWAY. And it was waaay less of a problem then it could be.

Another thing I LOVE. This author doesn’t sound like she’s trying to fit in with teenagers of this day and age. She actually DOES fit in. I believe Mara could definitely be a 17-year-old. I can not STAND it when authors try to make every teenage character sarcastic and funny because they think that will fit in with us teens. It doesn’t work. If you can pull off the sarcasm the way Michelle Hodkin does then you have yourself some skills. I laughed out loud many times during this because of Jamie and Mara’s exchanges. Did I mention Jamie is AMAZING? He’s hilarious and  just..AH, I want a friend like him!

There were a few times when I smiled during Mara and Noah’s exchanges. I also got a kick out of Mara’s temper sometimes.

This book made me FEEL. SO MUCH.

Those are really creepy. They make me laugh anyways, HAHAAA.

Anyways, when Mara was mad, I was MAD. When she had her fights with Phoebe, I wanted to smack that chick across the face too. When she loved Noah, (and even when she didn’t) I LOVEEEEEEEEEDDDD Noah. When Mara felt hopeless, I felt hopeless. Very hopeless. I actually had to take a break from all the overwhelmingness of feelings. I seriously was jumping around screaming during my break. Then I RAN back to my book and kept reading.

Do you notice how I keep using the word “love?” Especially in caps lock. That’s because I absolutely ADORE this book. It’s AMAZING. I can’t find one thing I don’t like about it!

There was NOTHING predictable about this book. It was a mystery and I didn’t know what was going to happen. I felt connected to Mara, I understood her. She isn’t an emotional little girl who needs to get over herself. She’s doing the best she can for her situation. She’s flawed, but she’s not annoying or stupid.

Michelle Hodkin is AMAZING. After I read the first book, I thought it was OK, so I wasn’t jumping to buy this one, but I decided to buy it a few days after it came out on my NOOK. I haven’t read a sequel in a while that was better than the first. This was REFRESHING. Lately, I haven’t read any books I really wanted or needed to write a review on. THEN I READ THIS ONE. The sequel not only complimented the first book, but in my opinion it was BETTER. More Noah, more mystery, more answers, more Noah, more Jamie, MORE NOAH.

I’m sending this review to Michelle Hodkin so she knows how much I LOVE this book, so let’s all wave hi to Michelle!

HI MICHELLE!

Is there anything else I should say? I don’t know, I’ll probably update this a few times…

But for now, my rating out of five stars is…

*drumroll*

FIVE!

Leave a Reply

