The Selection by Kiera Cass

The Selection (The Selection, #1)

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

After reading that synopsis and people’s reviews, my thoughts were:

-Some people really REALLY hated this book.

-Some people LOVED this book.

-Ooohhh, princesses, castles, sparkly things!

Then I read a review of someone who really hated the book, so my conclusion:

I have to read this book.

So I pick up this book, and…

image

I read it.

Now what kind of name is America Singer? I mean really, who would name their kid America? I’m sorry if your name is America. Not just because I keep insulting your name, but also because your name is America. I mean, if you like your name, then that’s a different story. So, the whole Singer last name thing. I know it’s not America’s choice, but the author could’ve picked a different last name. America Singer is a singer who lives in what used to be America. So creative aren’t we? Thinking outside the box, coloring outside the lines! All of that great stuff! Ok, besides names, let’s review characters.

America Singer

America was supposed to be a sassy, strong redhead whose spirit was evident. She was meant to be a sarcastic, witty heroine with a mean face-slap and a soft, loving side towards family and maids. Does all of this remind you of anyone? Anyone at all? I’m not looking for one person. I’m wondering if you guys notice how every single girl who meets a Prince in a book for whatever reason either slaps the Prince or mouths him off. Every other girl who meets the Prince is sweet and sucks up and gets nervous, but this girl, now she’s so original! She’s the only girl who doesn’t get swept off her feet by the Prince. Maybe the first author to write a story like this was original. Props to them! But 99% of the authors who wrote a story with a random girl and a Prince did the exact same thing!

Why can’t someone make an original heroine? Why not make her realistic? If I met some famous handsome Prince I wouldn’t be a sassy, fiery girl who hates him immediately. Not at all. I’d probably freak him out cause I’d be all like:

And he would react:

I might be annoyed with him if he was seriously stuck up, but they never are in these books. I would see if he was stuck up first. Now if he was, I would be really annoyed. I have an honesty policy. So I would definitely just tell the dude that he was being a stuck-up jerk. But these girls judge the Prince before they even know him!

Ok, so back to America. She’s pretty pathetic. I don’t remember anything about her and I read this book a week ago. I just know that she’s pathetic, and she goes back to guys who break her heart after she starts falling for another guy. She’s pretty player-ish. I know she doesn’t understand feelings, because if she did, she would’ve realized she really liked Maxon. If she was smart, she would’ve forgotten about Aspen. Moving on, Kiera Cass was trying to show America’s sweet, humane side by having her stand up for her maids. Hmm, where have I seen that before? Oh yeah, about 4,000 other Princess stories!

America was a wannabe. She wanted to be sassy, sweet, sarcastic, hard, loving, and smart all at the same time. What did she end up being like? An annoying emotional girl who needs an attitude adjustment.

Aspen

Aspen is pretty much America’s boyfriend at the beginning of the book. He’s lower than her in castes, so he’s hungry a lot. So one night she decides to give him a big meal because she had enough money. Now usually he golfs down the food she gives him. He’s that hungry. So what does Aspen do when she offers him a feast? Oh that’s right! He gets all emotional and breaks up with her! I was like:

I mean, glsahoifjdklvnbuhfjfdk. No. So then later, he just waltzes on up to the palace all like, HEY ‘MER, TAKE ME BACK, CAUSE I TOTALLY LOVE YOU. Lookie here bud, you don’t just get to break a girl’s heart like that then expect to get her back. So I’m over here expecting America to reject him, and what does she do? Make out with him! After all the pain he has caused her. After everything, she MAKES OUT WITH HIM. Not to mention that’s against the rules during The Selection. So there we go, she’s stupid, he’s stupid, EVERYBODY’S STUPID.

Maxon

One word to describe Maxon: awkward. He’s just an awkward guy. There’s nothing he can do about it. It’s not his fault. I mean, he is pretty stereotypical for a Prince, but he did have one scene where I really liked him…and so did America. *eyebrow wiggle* He thought something was wrong so when he ran to America his hair was messy, he didn’t have a coat on, his sleeves were rolled up, and he just looked a lot more relaxed than usual. Well “looked,” but you know what I mean… So anyways, I just…meh, he’s pretty awkward. He’s not the kind of guy I would like, but America should be with him. I don’t have much else to say. He’s a stereotypical, awkward man.

Moving on to the romance…it was stereotypical. If I got a classroom, stuffed it with teenagers and told them a quick synopsis and a few points, 90% of them could tell me what was going to be happen and be right. There are so many words to describe this book, but STEREOTYPICAL would be the best one.

Now that was just the romance and characters. The story was a great idea. Maybe if she gave the idea to J.K. Rowlings, Veronica Roth, Suzanne Collins, or Lauren Oliver it would’ve been amazing. Just the basic idea would’ve sparked a masterpiece. I think this book could have been so much more, but it just wasn’t. It’s a cool idea. I had high hopes for this book. Princesses, dreams, sparkly things, romance, blah blah, blah blah. I was disappointed.

See, also this book’s genre is debatable. It had a weird dystopian twist. Then some fantasy feelings. I really don’t know what kind of book this is…

ANYWAYS,

My rating out of five stars…

*drumroll*

THREE!

 

2 thoughts on “The Selection by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

