Waiting for You by Susane Colasanti

Waiting For You

At the beginning of her sophomore year, Marisa is ready for a fresh start and, more importantly, a boyfriend. So when the handsome and popular Derek asks her out, Marisa thinks her long wait for happiness is over. But several bumps in the road—including her parents’ unexpected separation, a fight with her best friend, and a shocking disappointment in her relationship with Derek—test Marisa’s ability to maintain her new outlook. Only the anonymous DJ, whose underground podcasts have the school’s ear, seems to understand what Marisa is going through. But she has no idea who he is—or does she? In Waiting For You, this third romantic novel from Susane Colasanti, Marisa learns how to “be in the Now” and realizes that the love she’s been waiting for has been right in front of her all along.

Marisa, you think YOU’RE waiting? She thinks she’s waiting…HA. I was the one waiting. I was waiting for YOU, Susane, to actually get me interested in the story. How, HOW did I actually finish the book? Perseverance and sheer determination. Just kidding, it was more like pure desperation, and me being terribly bored. I deserve some reward for this, seriously. It was like doing a plank, I felt like I was reading a book for school. That’s big, right there, that’s big. It got interesting maybe during the last fifty pages. Other people loved this book…I don’t get it. The last fifty pages were the best part and even they were mediocre. Let’s go over characters.

Marisa

Marisa has some anxiety disorder and I didn’t get it. I mean, I get the whole make-the-main-character-unique thing, but this isn’t extremely relatable. I’m sure there was one girl some where that felt very close to Marisa cause she has an anxiety disorder too. Yay, hooray for them!

Hey look, it’s Honey Boo Boo! Anyways, most girls don’t have an anxiety disorder like she does. This girl was supposed to be 16 or something. She acted like she was 13.  Oh, then she’s one of those girls. The girls who just need to have a boyfriend or their soul isn’t complete and they will never ever be happy. The ones who watch every guy expecting him to like her. She’s very unrealistic too. This is how it would go:

Boy: *turns around in chair*

Marisa: OMG OMG OMG he’s turning around in his chair! He’s totally gonna make a move!

Boy: Hey, um,

Marisa: It’s coming, it’s coming!

Boy: My eraser is short, do you have an eraser I could borrow?

Marisa: Aw, he must be too embarrassed to ask me out! Gotta act like I didn’t realize it. Ooohhh, yeeeaahhh of course! *gives eraser*

Boy: Um…thanks…

Marisa: Anytime *in what she thinks is seductive* Wait, he’s cute, right? We could totally be the perfect couple, like, seriously.

Boy: What is wrong with her? 

The book was seriously like this the entire time. And if she found out the guy liked someone else, the next time a guy turned around she’d check him out and freak out thinking he liked her. Especially with Derek.

Derek

A popular jerk. It was obvious from the beginning that he wasn’t going to turn out to be the Prince Charming. Marisa had the most annoying crush on this dude. It was seriously torture! She’d freak out and act like a retard anytime he was around. Does that happen in real life? I’ve never seen it. If I was him, I’d get a restraining order, just saying. So anyways, he’s one of those superficial, stupid guys. That’s all I have to say about that.

Nash

Romance and nerds. Some might find those books endearing, sorry to break it to you though, but Nash wasn’t the Prince Charming I like to read about. I don’t care if they get a new haircut or a new wardrobe. I, maybe it’s just me, don’t like nerds in romance books. Unless they’re the best friend. Now, I am a nerd, but I’m also a mix of almost everything else except emo, and stuff. See I’m a nerd, BUT I have a social life. I’m a nerd, BUT I have friends, and they aren’t even nerdy. But this kid, he has like no friends. He’s the epitome of nerd. It doesn’t work for me. Ruins the entire feel.

Those are all the important characters.

I didn’t really enjoy this book too much. Early in the book, out of nowhere, Nash grows a crush on Marissa because he thought she liked him. So she’s not the only stupid one. She showed NO signs of romantic interest and he thinks she has a crush on him.

GAHHH, I facepalmed SO MUCH in this book. Can’t I have a book with people who aren’t socially retarded? Come on! JLKSAHGIFSJFDKVHAOFISD It’s not endearing, it’s not adorable. NO! JUST NO.

Anyways, I guess it got better at the end. And I didn’t suspect who the mystery radio guy was, but then again I suck at guessing things like that. I bet most people guessed right. I don’t even know what else to say.

The book was so slow at the beginning and middle. The end got better, but not that much better. I didn’t like this book and I’m done with my review now…

SO my rating out of five stars is…

*drumroll*

TWO!

Leave a Reply

