Prodigy by Marie Lu

Prodigy (Legend, #2)

Do you want to see what I look like right now? I’ll show you a picture. Me and this girl need to have a crying session together because I’m feeling what she’s feeling right now.

image

Now I need to get in my pajamas, hole myself in my room, get a milkshake, a big box of tissues, and just cry. THIS fellow peoples is what fangirling is all about. This is why I am considered a fangirl. Because a book and the NONEXISTENT characters in them cause me such trauma. I’m dying right now. I can’t handle my feels. They’re exploding all over my soul. What’s wrong with me? I don’t know, but I’m in an unstable condition. THIS IS THE POWER OF Prodigy. 

So as usual with a sequel unless you’ve read the first book, Legend, I wouldn’t recommend reading the synopsis I’m getting from Goodreads that is right here:

June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long. 

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

I read Legend about two years ago right around when it came out. I’ve waited two years for this book. I rushed to Barnes and Noble this morning and bought it. And I stalled, because I knew this inevitable moment would come, the moment when I finished the book. AH. DON’T REMIND ME I CAN’T HANDLE IT.

ASJDKFDKL.

Anyways, now I must wait another year or so for the last book. Why does it have to be this way, WHY?

I’m going to start with saying something I loved about this book.

The characters were so real.

Now children this book is a PERFECT example of how to really develop your characters.

These characters could be people I saw at Whole Foods or on the street.

I never ever thought:

This is so stupid, no one says that. 

OR

Seriously, seriously? No one does that.

I have to admit though, there were times where I cringed from stupidity. And when June and Day didn’t just come right out and tell each other what was wrong. The amount of secrets kept from everyone was so irritating. I mean, yeah ok, add some spice. But be more realistic. The characters are all smart, so why do they keep so many secrets? June would think something important or something would happen to her and she’d just say “Oh, I’ll just keep this from Day,” which he ALWAYS found out about by the way. And he’d do the same thing.

But with the characters, I felt them. Most of the Patriots had lost a lot. I felt empathetic towards nonexistent people, VERY much so. I can see the world going toward this dystopia. It makes sense. It’s well thought out.

So about Day and June. When they kissed it was perfect. My soul was singing. Because these two are soulmates. I’m making it official. But the problem is, when a book is from two different POVs, you can see what’s going on in each person’s head, obviously. So what bothered me so much is that Day would think something that June would think something else about. Did that even make sense? Let’s give an example that I just made up and has nothing to do with the book.

June: I love the ice cream he gave me. I’m just so sad because I miss my dog, I hope he doesn’t think I don’t like the ice cream. But I guess since I’m totally stupid I’ll just shut up.

Day: She totally hates the ice cream. I’m terrible, so terrible. Her expression is so depressed.

Me: Are you, what? No…DAY STAHP SHE LOVES IT DAY DON’T BE SAD. June you retard.

But of course he can’t hear me.

And now you see what I mean. Just tell him you like the ice cream and explain you’re sad because of your dog, come on June. And if she noticed that she said something stupid, instead of correcting it, she’d just cringe and shut up, making it worse since Day can’t read her mind. They both need to learn that they can’t read each other’s minds and so you actually need to TELL EACH OTHER YOUR PROBLEMS OR YOU BOTH WILL ASSUME THINGS. That really pissed me off a couple times. I really wanted to just hit myself. Then the book. Then myself again.

Now, from past reviews…what do I hate in a book series because it pains me so much? Yes, yes, love triangles! And there wasn’t just one in this book, no no, there was two! And they were entwined! And I was about to cry because everyone was being stupid and I wanted to just go into the book and yell at June and Day and everyone.

This book is so different from many dystopians I’ve read, which is hard. I usually get the same kind of feeling for most dystopian novels, but not this one. The world I imagine is a world I’ve never been in. I really like the feeling. Because even though it’s a dystopian world and you can tell, you still get the feeling that anything can happen,  and it’s exciting. It really is.

I ship Day and June so hard it hurts. They are so amazingly perfect for each other.

Besides romance, this book was so suspenseful. I think there should be an age limit, because an old woman with heart problems should not read this book. I was about to get a heart attack. I was saying over and over: don’t die ok don’t die you can’t ok no ok no. And people would die and I was praying that no one I loved would get hurt. I had to shake my foot the whole time to let out my anxiety..I was SCARED.

SO I may complain a lot about something in the book, but I loved it so much. And that’s why I cared. I wouldn’t be so mad at June and Day if I didn’t care. But oh my do I care. I felt like I had just undergone a terrible breakup and I don’t even have a boyfriend. I wanted to do what I would want to do if I’d broken up with someone. Sit there and cry and do nothing. Because this book is amazing, and the characters could be my best friends, and I have to wait another year for the third one.

So my rating out of five stars is…

*drumroll*

FIVE!

Leave a Reply

