The Host by Stephenie Meyer

The Host (The Host, #1)

I could give you a synopsis, which I will, but I’m also giving you the trailer to the movie:

And here’s the official synopsis:

Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. Earth has been invaded by a species that takes over the minds of human hosts while leaving their bodies intact, and most of humanity has succumbed.

Wanderer, the invading “soul” who has been given Melanie’s body, knew about the challenges of living inside a human: the overwhelming emotions, the too vivid memories. But there was one difficulty Wanderer didn’t expect: the former tenant of her body refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.

Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of the man Melanie loves – Jared, a human who still lives in hiding. Unable to separate herself from her body’s desires, Wanderer yearns for a man she’s never met. As outside forces make Wanderer and Melanie unwilling allies, they set off to search for the man they both love.

Now let me just start off by saying yes, this is by Stephenie Meyer who did write the Twilight series. But if you hated the Twilight series, absolutely do NOT let that cloud your judgement of whether you should read this or not.

So when I read the synopsis on the back of the book, my thoughts went as follows:

Well, this is a change from vampires…no one’s done this before. At least not that I know of. I wonder if this will be like Twilight. I like Twilight…but I don’t need another. I think I’ll survive without another.

But I bought it because I knew it was going to be a movie, and I hate seeing a movie before reading the book. So I went home and I started it. I about ditched it 20 times. It was so confusing, and it was extremely slow. I didn’t really understand the whole “soul” thing.  But I kept reading. Because it had an interesting plot and I had no idea where it was going to go. And there was a love triangle which means romance and I like romance, even if love triangles cause me pain. But I knew this was a weird love triangle so I’d survive. It took me about a week to get to 100 pages. Because I’d read ten pages, just about fall asleep, ditch it, and come back the next day. Once I hit the 100 page mark, it started picking up. I started reading it more. After around page 200, I was hooked. My thoughts were about this book, and I was always reading it.

I finished the book, and this was me:

image

(Wait, is that cat even real? That does not look real to me. Just saying…)

The book was over along with my life.

Just kidding, that’s way too dramatic. I was emotionally drained, but my life wasn’t over. It actually took lots of time to process that I was done. Then it took more time to accept it. I went through like all the stages of the grief process while reading this book and then after.

This is one of those books that you just want to be longer and longer so you never have to be done with it. But I was, and I was about to cry. So let’s discuss the whole alien thing.

Imagine:

You live in a world where aliens have taken over, what’s your immediate reaction? I’d probably piss my pants and hide in a corner crying. Then I’d pull my big girl panties on and face it. Melanie though, she jumps into “save the world and every human” mode. She’s a real trooper. Props to Melanie, that girl deserves a reward.

Now imagine this:

You are an alien. And you enter a body, but the body fights back. What would you do? I would probably not give up and just keep trying to get rid of the human because I hate giving up, just like Wanderer. But I might be wrong, it’s a little hard to imagine being an alien. Although, what if we are? What if you aren’t actually a human, and you took over the body you’re in right now but you didn’t remember that. WHAT IF WE’RE ALL ALIENS? Alright, I’m gonna shut up now.

Moving on,

Wouldn’t your first reaction be to hate Wanderer? For being an alien? And taking  over humans and stuff? Well I would, and I did. I just eventually started to like her, just like Melanie. Obviously, she was in a bit of pickle. Wow, never thought I’d say “in a pickle.” Anyways, since she starts to like Melanie, she’ll obviously want Melanie to have her body back. So wow what to do, what to do… That’s a problem.

Well kids, read the book to figure out what happens!

Just kidding, I’m probably younger than all of you. So anyways, when Wanderer AKA Melanie AKA Wanderer finds Jared and Jamie you bite your fingers to find out what their reaction is. It’s scary, I was like jumping up and down. So point is, it’s hard to imagine what Stephenie Meyer will do to make this work. Once I actually figured out what this book was about, which took me a while I must admit, I was wondering how she would pull it all off. That was what kept me reading through the boring beginning. BUT NOTICE THAT THE BEGINNING IS WORTH IT, AND IS NEEDED, because without it you’d be so lost throughout the book.

Mmm, let’s talk romance, AKA MY LIFE. Well…my fictional life, I do not have a real love life. But you do not read my reviews to hear about my “forever alone” problems.

So about romance…

That picture is basically my experience with the couples in this book. They’re so perfect. You know, half the reason I don’t have a boyfriend in real life is because my expectations are so high because of people like Jared and Ian (characters from this book if you didn’t get that). The only other reason I don’t hole up in my room and cry that every single guy I know has a 5th grade maturity level, is because I have to have some faith that a Jared or an Ian exists. I WILL NEVER GIVE UP.

Wow, I’m so scared when I reread what I write. OH well…

So let’s now discuss…um what to discuss…oh yeah, the emotions!

Besides the basic emotions I get from love triangles and shipping and stuff, I’m talking about the serious stuff. Really imagine a world like this. I got so into this book that one time when Jamie broke down and starting crying I actually cried.

I KNOW I KNOW, I ACTUALLY CRIED. I’m not lying though. It was so sad for me. Wow I keep using gifs of the same girl, I hope she doesn’t sue me. Not that she’d ever see my blog. But she’s got great facial expressions I mean whatcha gonna do.

So anyways,

I loved this book. It was so amazing. The way it was done was perfect. Melanie was just as much a character as Wanderer, which I didn’t think was gonna be the case.

Silly Nicole! How could you ever doubt Stephenie Meyer’s writing skills!

And this book was so unique and original. I’m absolutely sure that if Stephenie wrote this before Twilight then Twilight would be way more popular. In fact it feels so weird to even say “Twilight” here because this story has NOTHING to do with the Twilight series.

So point is I totally recommend this, and it’s sooo amazing. So my rating out of five stars is…

*drumroll*

FIVE!

Leave a Reply

