The Thing About the Truth by Lauren Barnholdt

The Thing About the Truth

Kelsey’s not going to let one mistake ruin her life. Sure, she got kicked out of prep school and all her old friends are shutting her out. But Kelsey’s focused on her future, and she’s determined to get back on track at Concordia High.

Isaac’s been kicked out of more schools than he can count. Since his father’s a state senator, Isaac’s life is under constant scrutiny—but Concordia High’s his last stop before boarding school, so Isaac’s hoping to fly under the radar and try to stay put for a change.

When Kelsey and Isaac meet, it’s anything but love at first sight. She thinks he’s an entitled brat, and he thinks she’s a stuck-up snob. So it surprises them both when they start to fall for each other. Kelsey’s happy for the first time in months, and Isaac’s never felt this way about anyone before. But nothing’s ever completely perfect. Everyone has secrets, and Isaac and Kelsey are no exceptions. These two may have fallen hard, but there’s one thing that can ruin it all: the truth.

Does that sound intense or what? I read that and I was like whooaaa got to read this! I was in the mood for a romance so I checked it out. It also sounded like a romance with a pinch of action and mystery. Who knows what their secrets could be.

So I started reading, and the first thing I read pissed me off. Why? Because it started with AFTER. In other words, there was a snippet from after everything happened. Then there was a chapter of BEFORE. It took me awhile to get used to it, and I hated the switch. Not only did it make the ending seem short and insignificant, but it was so annoying! You had no idea what the hell they were talking about, and it just confused you. What was the point of that? It did nothing. It didn’t just not add anything to the story, but it took away from the story.

So anyways, another thing about this book that pissed me off was how they fought. It was over NOTHING and stupid! I can’t explain how annoyed with them I got. I was about to jump in the story and smack their righteous little faces. Another thing! The stereotypical boy who comes from a rich family. Then the stereotypical girl who judges him and is a jerk to him until she realizes she was wrong the whole time. Hmm, where have I heard that one before? Oh like 10,000,000,000 other books! Couldn’t you have come up with something creative?

I can’t complain about them both being attractive, cause that’s what I would definitely put in a book. Having two ugly awkward characters makes for a lame romance. So that was fine.

But the main thing that makes me not so fond of this book. The big secret. Or should I say miniscule little detail. The whole book was basically molded around this secret! In fact, there was another secret, something Kelsey did that would be a bigger deal. She basically trashed her ex-boyfriends car. Sounds a little psycho to me. But that isn’t even a big deal in this book. No she just goes around proclaiming to the world that she viciously attacked his car with a crowbar. I don’t know about you, but that’d be something I’d wanna know before getting into a relationship with a guy. But the big secret was NOTHING. Here is how a normal couple would react to the “big” secret:

Boy: Why’d you lie?

Girl: I guess I wanted to pretend like it never happened.

Boy: I understand, but know you can always be honest with me.

Girl: Thank you, I love you.

Boy: I love you too.

Here’s how the couple in the book reacted.

Boy: HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO ME.

Girl: I THOUGHT I COULD PRETEND LIKE *sobbing* LIKE IT DIDN’T HAPPEN *sobbing*

Boy: BUT YOU CAN’T. I DON’T-I DON’T KNOW IF I CAN DO THIS ANYMORE.

Girl: NOOO, I’M SO SORRY PLEASE FORGIVE ME.

Boy: I DON’T KNOW IF I CAN…THIS IS TOO MUCH. I…I…WE’RE OVER!

Girl: *Sobbing*

And since the author did that whole BEFORE and AFTER thing, we saw a snippet of that fight. And so we got excited to find out what the fight was about. And when I finally got to it, I literally skipped over it not realizing that was the secret. I didn’t even really care about that until we finally got to the legit “after” and I realized that’s what they were fighting about. I literally almost forgot she’d even lied about it.

If you aren’t going to read the book, and be sure of it, here’s what she was lying about…

SPOILER

HER VIRGINITY

SPOILER

Big deal! I mean she shouldn’t have lied but I was expecting mass murder or something. And to be honest you probably could read the book knowing that since it didn’t really add anything to the story. I don’t understand why Isaac got so pissed. She had legitimate reasons for lying. He was so annoying.

So all in all this book pissed me off many times, and although Isaac and Kelsey were an attractive couple, they were so stupid it hurt. Why can’t authors be realistic nowadays? IT’S SO ANNOYING.

Overall, out of five stars, I’d give this book…

*drumroll*

TWO!

Leave a Reply

