Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian (Lux, #1)

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens. 

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. 

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

I’M SORRY, but…aliens?

Look I’ve read a lot of stuff. I’m like an expert on vampires. I’ve read about werewolves, shadowhunters, and all different kinds of weird creatures. And yes, I’ve read alien books. They aren’t for me. Those alien books tend to be based on a fight, more like an invasion. I could understand that. But the alien in this book is supposed to be hot? I’m not saying it’s supposed to be green and big headed and all that jazz, but an alien as a love interest? I just, it, sounds so weird. I can’t wrap my head around that. And when the dude was talking about his home planet, all I heard was:

Boy: I come from the planet Lashglkjdjgkhalfk. Our planet, or should I say my home… *Shed tear, manly stare into distance* was destroyed.

Girl: *Sharp gasp* I’m so sorry! That’s terrible!

Boy: It’s hard, but we’ll survive. *Another manly stare into distance with tears in eyes*

Me:

Oh wait, you’re actually being serious… AWKWARD…

I don’t think it’s possible not to be cheesy when it comes to that little speech. And it sure was cheesy in this book.

OH and what’s with the blurb of the story basically ruining the entire plot? I basically have nothing I could spoil for you. Unless you’ve never read a book before you couldn’t assume the hot alien guy and normal girl were gonna end up together. Maybe if the cover said something like: But Daemon has a secret. I can tell. Something weird is going on. People are missing all the time, and I know his family is different. They aren’t telling me something. Blah blah. Wouldn’t that be great if that was in the blurb instead of giving away the entire point of the book? I mean I still liked the book, but not knowing would probably attract more readers and given me a better experience when reading. Oh well…moving on.

Katy

Katy’s the main character. I hated how little description was given for her. She apparently had huge gray eyes, light brown hair, big lips, and a big butt, though she wasn’t as curvy as her mom.

That’s so great! How curvy was her mom then? Is she fat? Is she short to the extent of awkwardness? I hate the blanks. I imagined her as short and stubby. That ruined like every romance scene! Especially how the guy was explained to the point where I could write an essay. And he was apparently  the hottest guy ever. But look at her on the second book cover, LOOK.

Capture

Do you see her? She looks 30 years old! She’s supposed to be a senior. And of course it’s only personal opinion, but I don’t find her that pretty. And her eyes are not huge. I absolutely HATE how they put people on a cover. It’s like them telling us: No, of course you can’t imagine what the characters look like on their own! WE need to tell you! Who cares if that’s different than what you’d like.

Now I’m not gonna lie, the guy on the cover is pretty attractive, and would work perfectly for Daemon, but that’s only me. I bet there are tons of other girls who imagined him so different. But they did get his hair PERFECT. Moving on…

Daemon

Daemon was perfect, and perfect, and perfect. Did I mention perfect? Is it weird that I randomly want an alien boyfriend? Yep, of course it is. But I’m not ashamed. Because he’s DAEMON.

image

Not much more to do in life than swoon over a nonexistent alien that is the face of perfection. And not only that. He was original. He was actually original! Tell me, when do you see a guy character that’s actually something new nowadays? Oh, that’s right, NEVER. And I mean Katy was original too, and not too annoying. But I think the author wants to torture us because they fought every two seconds. JUST GIVE US A BREAK AND LET THEM HAVE A NICE FIGHT-FREE TIME TOGETHER THANK YOU.

Well since that picture describes it all, that’s all for Daemon.

Those are the main characters, I don’t know who else to explain. I could do Dee, but she’s not a huge problem in the book. She’s just Daemon’s sweet sister who ends up becoming really close to Katy.

I don’t know what else to say. To be honest I really liked this book. The romance was perfect, even though I imagined Katy to look a looot different from what she was supposed to look like. Besides the cheesiness of the alien thing, if you really tried to look past it, you could get into the story. I kind of wish they were just some form of mutated human though, because knowing they came from another planet is weird… Anyways, that’s all I have for now. I decided I’m going to review every book I read, because I’ve stopped blogging as much and it saddens me.

So out of five faces, this book gets…

*drumroll*

(too lazy to copy the drumroll picture from my other reviews, so just use your imagination)

FOUR!

 

Leave a Reply

