Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Half-Blood (Covenant, #1)

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures. Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.

Alright, so where to begin?

Ok I don’t know where to begin.

Let’s begin with the beginning, since that’s how beginnings usually begin.

What am I even doing?

OK let’s talk about Alex!

Alex

Alex was on the border of being way too unrealistically courageous and spontaneous. Every chance she got, she fought with anyone and everyone. She would never shut up, or behave. A little sarcasm and spirit is endearing of a main character, but a lot is annoying. Alex almost crossed the line and became annoying. Anymore, and she would’ve been such a predictable, non-original character. Jennifer pulled it off, but a few times I was wincing, and that was a few too many times, honestly. But I still liked her. A lot of things she said made me laugh, and once I actually laughed out loud, which is a big deal when we’re talking about a book. My emotions from a book usually come out in a squeak or inhuman squeal, not usually a normal human reaction.

Sometimes I worry I tell you guys too much.

Anyways, she was funny. I felt a special connection with her that makes me sad since she doesn’t exist. But I was ALWAYS on her side, and she didn’t really piss me off too much.

Aiden

AIDEN

Imagine this scenario:

Aiden: Hi.

Me: I WILL BEAR YOUR CHILDREN.

Aiden has these big gray eyes that are expressive and always show his emotions. They can be a calm storm or a ranging ocean of emotion. See what I did there? I rhymed. And long/short (I think the correct term would be medium) length brown hair that is wavy and hot….mmm

Just imagine. And he’s tall. And he is obviously perfectly muscled.

And he doesn’t exist. This is weird, I’m weird.

Aiden is also chivalrous which of course is freaking amazing, but not as amazing as when he becomes mischievous. Just imagine a hot chivalrous guy who is always the perfect gentleman and then BAM he like smirks and gets a mischievous look in his eyes. Like honestly, I just, he just, he’s just a golden character.

 

Alex you better treat this man RIGHT. Or I will…I will…do nothing. Because you don’t exist.

This story had the perfect (P E R F E C T) balance of Greek Mythology, romance, adventure, and emotional trauma. I mean emotional trauma like I now have emotional trauma probably cause you know how like when someone’s addicted to something? And then you like all of a sudden stop giving them that substance or whatever? And they go into shock and sometimes die. THAT IS HOW I AM RIGHT NOW CAUSE I HAVE TO WAIT FOR THE LAST BOOK OF THIS SERIES.

WHY DON’T YOU JUST GOUGE MY EYES OUT WITH A SPOON IT’D BE SO MUCH EASIER.

But anyways…nowadays I can’t focus on action or adventure anymore in most books cause the romance takes up the WHOLE story. Now I mean, yes there’s a PERFECT amount of romance in this book, leaving me swooning on my floor, but there isn’t too much. There’s plenty, but it’s still an amount where I’m focused on the whole story of it. I’m interested, I NEED to know what happens. Who dies, who lives, who becomes the hero all that stuff blah blah blah

This book leaves me on the edge of my chair. I want to cry all the time because the emotions are overwhelming and I’m suffering from withdrawal cause I need the last book and I need closure because I am an emotional wreck.

Point is, I love love LOVE this series,

and so out of five faces,

I give this book/series…

*drumroll*

FIVE!

Leave a Reply

