The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones Movie Review

Hi guys! Sorry I haven’t posted in so long! First I had band camp then my school registration came and I’ve been so busy but I will let this go on no longer. I have to post something it’s killing me. So this is actually my review of City of Bones, a book I LOVE with all my heart, that has been turned into a movie.

I’M FANGIRLING ALREADY BY THINKING ABOUT IT.

OK SO IF YOU DON’T KNOW THE SYNOPSIS I’LL GIVE YOU THE ONE TO THE BOOK.

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder — much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing — not even a smear of blood — to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know. . .

Yeah so you understand what the story is about…so let’s examine parts crucial to a story and their adaptation.

MOVIE ADAPTATION OF…

PLOT

The plot was basically the same, and the main changes were the fact that events were switched in order. But I was looking forward to a certain scene and sure enough the scene existed. There was not much adding of scenes or taking away. Although the ending became a little complicated and there were little things added in.  But I honestly have no complaints about the movie adaptation of the plot.

CHARACTERS

Clary? Perfect.

Jace? Pretty close to perfect. Jace is supposed to be gorgeous who girls fall in love with at the sight of. He was hot but not drop dead gorgeous and wouldn’t really turn my head. What made him hot was his expressions and jokes and how he fought. ALTHOUGH the Jace in the book is more a jerk and conceited. But they got his jokes right. And he did know he was hot. AND HE WAS BRITISH SO THAT ALWAYS HELPS.

Alec? Pretty good, although he’s kind of more attractive than Jace which isn’t supposed to happen but because I love Jace more in the books I like Jace more still in the movies.

Isabelle? Not drop dead gorgeous either, though she’s supposed to be. She’s also supposed to be kind of bratty and mean with an attitude, but she was sort of nice in the movie.

Simon? PERFECT.

Clary’s mother? Pretty perfect, she’s not a favorite character or anything so I don’t care too much

Magnus? PERFECT.

Luke? PERFECT.

Valentine? Pretty perfect also.

Silent Brothers? TERRIFYING, I WAS ABOUT TO SOB IN THE THEATER. But that’s what they should be.

So those are the main characters and all of them got good reviews, in fact a lot were perfect.

SETTING

This literally took the book right out of my mind and put it in a movie. The apartment looked EXACTLY like what I imagined as did the Institute. It was perfect.

SCRIPT

THEY SAID MY FAVORITE QUOTES I WAS DYING OF JOY.

“Unfortunately, my one true love remains myself.” -Jace

“Well then that way you don’t have to suffer rejection” -Clary

“Not necessarily. I turn myself down occasionally, just to keep it interesting.” -Jace

Although that wasn’t a conversation with Clary but I DON’T CARE. It’s better that way. They other times also quoted directly from the book. MY FAVORITE THING EVER.

OVERALL FEELING

It was perfect. I felt the same. Not much more to say.

ACTING

A+ FOR ACTING EVERYONE.

HOPE FOR NEXT MOVIE

I am VERY confident that this series will thrive as movies.

Overall I loved the movie, which I actually dressed up for. Nerd? I think so. I was dressed as a Shadowhunter and I drew runes and everything yes I have problems but that’s ok. I LOVED THE MOVIE SO MUCH AND JUST LOOK

LOOK LOOOK LOOOOOOK

LOOK AT HOW HE’S LOOKING AT HER HELPPPP

LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOK

LOOOOOOK JUST LOOK

LOOK AT THIS ONE LOOK

just look at how he looks at her look

SO I COULD POST SO MANY OF THESE I COULD POST THE SAME ONE A MILLION TIMES BUT YOU’RE NOT HERE FOR GIFS.

So a few gifs to sum up this movie

image

image

image

FUNNY HOW I JUST SAID YOU’RE NOT HERE FOR GIFS THEN I ENDED THIS BY SHOWING YOU ALL THOSE GIFS. Ok I’m done.

Leave a Reply

