Divergent by Veronica Roth

13335037

So I read this book a long time ago, like just when it came out. Then in English we had to write about a movie/tv show/book we wanted to describe to someone. And I had just reread Divergent. So I decided to write about it in English, and then I reread Insurgent (the second book in the series), and I decided to review Divergent. Keep in mind this review will also include Insurgent.

So my own synopsis:

In Divergent, the story follows a 16-year-old girl in future Chicago, Tris Prior. The world had been corrupted by evil. So they split the people into five factions to solve what they each thought was the cause of the evil. Some thought the problem was lack of intelligence, so they created a faction called Erudite for knowledge, or intelligence. Others thought the problem was dishonesty, They created the faction of Candor for honesty. Others thought the problem was selfishness, they created Abnegation for selflessness. Some thought the problem was cowardice, they created Dauntless for bravery and action. Lastly, some thought the problem was violence and hate, they created Amity for peace. Tris lives in Abnegation. As hard as she tries, she never seems to be selfless enough to fit in. They aren’t allowed to look in mirrors, or ask questions. They wear dull clothes as not to attract other people’s attention. Tris doesn’t feel like she belongs. At the age of 16, all must go through first an aptitude test to see which faction best fits them. Second they must go through a Choosing Ceremony to pick their faction. Tris takes the test and gets a result of three factions. Not only is that unheard of, but extremely dangerous because it means she is Divergent, but I can’t tell you why that’s bad cause that would spoil everything. So blah blah Tris ends up picking Dauntless. But the initiation is tough. Only 10 of those who picked Dauntless actually get to stay. Those are the top 10 in the ranks at the end of initiation. The other initiates who don’t make it through have to leave and become factionless, a fate no one wants. Starving, alone, being factionless is a scary thought. Now the stakes are even higher. Ranking is determined by not only fighting, but fear landscapes and being able to act despite fear or hesitation. Dauntless teaches you to be a fighter. That’s the basic idea. Anymore and I’m spoiling.

Okay wow that was a lot. So let’s talk about Tris.

Tris

Now Tris is one of my favorite heroines. She’s one heck of a fighter. Although it’s mentioned a lot that Tris is blonde, not ugly, not pretty either, short, kind of like a kid in body type. And I imagine things to the extreme, so it was kind of difficult to imagine Tris as a tough fighter when I’m imagining her as like a twelve year old. But obviously my mind exaggerates. So she’s not perfect, and that’s what I love. She isn’t pretty, she isn’t beautiful. How often do you see that in books? In almost all of my favorite books the girl is this gorgeous, perfect female specimen. That makes other girls look at themselves and think well this sucks. I’m not perfect. I’ll never be the hero.

BUT NO, no need for that with Tris. Tris isn’t beautiful, and why the heck should you need to be to kick butt? EXACTLY, YOU DON’T NEED TO BE. So I love how Veronica Roth can be real with us. In fact most of the characters have insecurities and stuff and it was just so real and lajskdagjfd;kljag.

Okay now can we talk about what I mainly made this review for please I’ve been dying over I mean it’s just

FOUR

^ME AFTER READING ABOUT TOBIAS. I don’t think a more accurate gif was ever shown for a more accurate emotion I just can’t I mean it’s Four I mean help. My grammar teacher would have a heart attack if she read that. I mean seriously: “I just can’t I mean it’s four I mean help” Wow.

SO FOUR:

He’s got these amazing blue eyes. And dark dark hair. And muscles cause he’s a trainer for the initiates. AND HE’S GOT THIS PERFECT AIM WITH KNIVES AND GUNS AND STUFF. AND AND HE’S JUST HE’S JUST LIKE ATHLETIC AND MYSTERIOUS AND HELP. And he’s brave and strong and he’s dark and not and he’s wounded and he’s just so great. *sigh*

Some of you may be confused why his name is Four but I GUESS YOU’RE JUST GONNA HAVE TO READ TO FIND OUT.

Here’s the movie version of Four:

I KNOW I KNOW HE DOESN’T HAVE BLUE EYES BUT IT’LL BE OKAY.

So, some movie stills.

AHH IS THAT WILL

AND CHRISTINA??

HELPPPP

OKAY OKAY.

Those are two of her friends. I hadn’t seen that picture until now but LASJKGBJ;LJRSDFAG

I think that’s a part of Tris’ fear simulation.

THIS KNIFE SCENE IT’S SOOO INTENSE IT’S THE BEST OKAY.

TRIS AND HER BROTHER.

THEY’RE SOULMATES CAN YOU FEEL IT.

SO BASICALLY THIS MOVIE LOOKS LIKE IT’S GOING TO BE SO AMAZING AND I’M JUST SO EXCITED.

Okay anyways. So Divergent and Insurgent are just amazing books. They made me feel everything on the feeling spectrum if that’s even a thing. One second I was crying slash throwing my book at the wall, the next I was jumping up and down screaming, scaring the crap out of my mom. These books are just so amazing and I ajsldkghdlkj;

The storyline, the characters. Everything was so thought out and real. It was just so substantial AND REAL EVEN THOUGH I ALREADY SAID THAT. Tris was an amazing main character. Four of course was perfection even though he wasn’t because nobody’s perfect (but he’s pretty close if you ask me). I’ve obviously read a lot of books in my short life, and these are definitely in my top five list of favorites. I could never pick ONE favorite (Harry Potter), like NEVER, (still Harry Potter), but this series is so close to that top spot. I absolutely adore this series and give it out of five faces…

*drumroll*

FIVE!

Leave a Reply

