Looking For Alaska by John Green

99561

Before. Miles “Pudge” Halter’s whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” (François Rabelais, poet) even more. Then he heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young, who is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart.

After. Nothing is ever the same

Wow thanks Goodreads I appreciate the picture being like a centimeter in length and width. I can barely read anything. I guess I could look up a bigger picture of the cover online but now, that is something I like to call effort.

Sorry I didn’t review this earlier. In fact, I read this the second week of August. But I’ve been meaning to review it. Now I’m reviewing it because I decided that doing homework tonight would be of no use because I’m tired. Of course I hate homework and am lazy  want to be awake fully so I can put my full effort into homework.

So on to my review. Let’s start with praise.

PRAISE

Oh John Green, your intelligence amazes me. Your huge vocab words will help with the SAT so I thank you for that.  Your writing is amazing and it just amazes me and I use that word so much,  too much in fact. My point is your writing is just dandy and your intelligence astounding.

So then we get to the story. It was real, that much I knew for certain. Something like this could happen, meaning people like this could exist and make this happen. Personally, I never understood why Pudge fell in love with Alaska. I mean yeah he thinks she’s hot, but is that it? She said weird stuff and I personally probably wouldn’t be her friend. I can’t really think of anything about her that would woo Pudge except for her looks. But that’s a different story. So the characters could exist, and the emotions were real.

The story was in depth although a few parts of it (I can’t mention cause it’d spoil the whole “AFTER” thing) were just a little unbelievable to me. Now, If you’re a die hard fan of the book and you want to beat me up because I didn’t find a part believable then I guess those are just some feelings you will have to deal with on your own or with a counselor. First step to healing is acknowledging you have a problem! (Fun Fact)

Let’s talk about Pudge.

Pudge

He’s skinny, that much John Green made sure you remember. In fact all I could think anytime there was a romance/sexual scene with him I was like “HE’S SKINNY” But I tend to do that; think about it too much. He’s also like a teenage girl, SO insecure. Now if guys are really this insecure in real life I had no idea. But Pudge has more insecurities than me. BUT OH MY GOD AT THE BEGINNING OF THE BOOK HE HAD A GOING AWAY PARTY AND TWO PEOPLE CAME IT WAS SO SAD I FELT SO BAD JLAD;KSGKHOE;SIJFKLD

POOR PUDGE, POOR PUDGE.

Wait I don’t even remember why he’s called Pudge. His name is Miles. Okay well I don’t really care enough to look it up.

So Pudge is skinny, insecure, and also awkward. He’s just awkward. So he’s not the most charming main character, but die-hard fans would be yelling at me right now: THAT’S NOT THE POINT PUDGE ISN’T SUPPOSED TO BE YOU’RE SO SHALLOW BLAH BLAH RAGE BLAH BLAH.

 

…sorry

Alaska

As I mentioned earlier, I don’t get it. Why is Pudge in love with her? She’s like this depressed person who smokes too much and drinks too much. Sure, she’s hot apparently, but that’s lust. I feel like Pudge was more in love with her exciting-ness (not a word), and the adventures that came with being her friend. She wasn’t that great of a person to me but I mean I guess she was…okay…

Criticisms

Again, like I said up above, not all of it was believable.

IF AND ONLY IF YOU HAVE READ THIS BOOK OR KNOW WHAT THE AFTER IS ABOUT AND DON’T REALLY WANT TO READ THE BOOK THEN YOU CAN READ THIS NEXT SECTION

SPOILERS

SPOILER ALERT

I wasn’t too impressed with the whole reason why Alaska left in the car drunk. She remembered it was her mom’s death day, (or was it birthday) because of some flowers she drew and so she got flowers and was going to put them on her mom’s grave. Maybe I just don’t understand cause I’ve never been drunk. Maybe it makes you really emotional or something. I know it makes people do stupid things so maybe it was just that. Then I don’t understand why Alaska made out with Pudge. It was random and weird. And then why was she even that drunk? Why would she drink that much? When they were testing how drunk she was, they weren’t even half-way and the Colonel (I FEEL LIKE I FORGOT HIS NAME IDK) was extremely drunk. So what would cause her to drink that much? Just a few things that I couldn’t relate to/didn’t really believe.

SPOILERS ABOVE

So another criticism. There were these really awkward sexual scenes. Pudge with, what’s her name…the European chick. I don’t remember her name. She has an accent I don’t even remember. There was a (COVER YOUR EARS CHILDREN) blow job scene. And boy was it so very awkward. I mean, was it even necessary?

It was awkward and gross and ew. BUT WAIT, THEY ACTUALLY WENT TO ALASKA TO ASK HOW TO DO IT RIGHT.

NOT ONLY IS THAT AWKWARD BUT

I just did not appreciate that scene. Nope.

Okay so let’s see…I feel like this book would really speak to depressed people who do drugs.

SO yeah, the book seemed more for the audience of those people who are depressed and drink and party and have issues with life. I am actually not one of those people, so the whole time I just couldn’t get into it. The worst thing I’ve done at this point is watch R rated movies without permission. For this I am sorry. Not really.

You know, I actually really wanted to cry when I read this. Cause everyone I talked to told me they were like sobbing. And I mean, my tear ducts were ready. I like a good cry with books. But nope. Of course it was sad, but then again, I was talking to my friend, and this was how it went:

Me: I wonder if _________ will happen. I bet ________.

My friend: Oh yeah, that’s actually what happens.

Me: image

did you just spoil a book for me? DID YOU JUST S P O I L A B O O K F O R M E??

So basically I knew what was gonna happen and I didn’t cry.

I’m not sure what else to say. It was brilliantly written, but I just couldn’t really relate/get into it.  When I read about people with problems like I just can’t really relate, I seem to have different problems. I’m sorry, but I didn’t really love this book.

Out of five faces…

Looking for Alaska gets…

*drumroll*

THREE!

Leave a Reply

