Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)

No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon. But Juliette has plans of her own. After a lifetime without freedom, she’s finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time—and to find a future with the one boy she thought she’d lost forever.

Okay well, I just have to discuss the way this book was written. I would read something and have to read it again because, what? Let me give you a few examples:

“I’m suspended in the moment. I blink and bottle my breaths.”

 

Um? Is that a thing?

“my eyes shatter into thousands of pieces that ricochet around the room, capturing a million snapshots, a million moments in time.”

Oh.

“These words are vomit.

This shaky pen is my esophagus.

This sheet of paper is my porcelain bowl.”

“Warner thinks Adam is a cardboard cutout of vanilla regurgitations”

AHAHHAHAHAHAHAHA VANILLA REGURGITATIONS HAHAHAHAHAHAH

okay whoo I’m good I’m good.

“My legs have won the right to tremble”

Congratulations?

1 word, 2 lips, 3 4 5 fingers form 1 fist.

1 corner, 2 parents, 3 4 5 reasons to hide.

1 child, 2 eyes, 3 4 17 years of fear.

A broken broomstick, a pair of wild faces, angry whispers, locks on my door.

Look at me, is what I wanted to say to you. Talk to me every once in a while. Find me a cure for these tears, I’d really like to exhale for the first time in my life.

It’s been 2 weeks.”

I, what?

I just, why? Why?

“My eyes are 2 professional pickpockets, stealing everything to store away in my mind”

So you get the point. I found myself skipping unnecessary paragraphs of fluff like those many times. I just, this writing, it was just…man I don’t know. I could look past it, but man it’s just weird. Did the author do this on purpose? Does she actually talk or think like this? That would be extremely uncomfortable. Then again, Juliette sounded normal when she talked. It was just the crazy stuff going on in her brain. And because she can’t be touched, blah blah, her touch is fatal blah blah, when she brushes arms with anyone she has this insane response. Let me give it a shot, SO HERE IS ME WRITING LIKE TAHEREH (HOW DO YOU SAY HER NAME??):

Adam brushes his arm with mine.

I freeze.

I am nothing, merely drifting through stolen touches and exploding nerve endings and I want him to touch me stop no please keep touching me. I am drowning in a sea of touch and feel and I can feel everything every nerve and cell and hair on my body.

ETC.

That is Tahereh’s writing style, and everything going on in Juliette’s head when they-

GASP-

BRUSH ARMS.

Yeah and she does cross out phrases like I wrote up there.

 

So if she about faints when they brush arms, you can imagine when they’re kissing. Well, Juliette’s actually like that with everything.

She has to shower?

I feel the water coursing down my body in bountiful heaps of tears from the spout  and my pain washes down the drain as I am struggling to stay upright from the exhilarating touch of the barest of the elements.

(Mother of run-on sentences; grammar teachers I must warn you before you read this book.)

Normal people: Ah, I love showering this feels good.

Juliette has to go to bed?

As I slip into my warm sheets of heaven and the angels whisper to me goodnight and I let the songs and memories of Adam’s arms around me comfort me I let my tiredness take over and hold me captive. A willing captive ready to let go into oblivion.

Normal people: I’m tired goodnight.

(Oh, guys these aren’t quotes from the book I’m writing them myself for examples so yeah)

So you get the point. Juliette is REALLY weird. I mean, I guess you could blame it up on being in the asylum for four years. Not really paradise or anything. And everyone being scared of her and her parents giving her up without a thought. Yeah maybe she has a few excuses. But still, no one asked the author to write so…weirdly. I’m using that word too much but what else do I say?

We can talk about Adam now. He’s pretty normal, THANK GOD. I mean if everyone was like Juliette I’d cry. I could not read a book where every line, every dialogue was disturbing slash confusing slash just WEIRD. I do ship Adam and Juliette for sure. Well….

Until the second book.

ALSDKFJAFHGSDF;JK

WHY??? MOTHER OF LOVE TRIANGLES JUST STOP. NO TAHEREH I THOUGHT YOU WERE SAFE I THOUGHT MY HEART WOULD BE SAFE BUT I AM TORN

T O R N

This love triangle is basically Juliette and either Adam or Warner. I know if you read the book after the review you’ll be surprised, but I mean it’s pretty predictable. If I told you there was a love triangle, most would guess Warner is the other guy. Anyways he does have feelings for her in the first book so it’s not really a spoiler. But I’m sorry guys, I ship Juliette and Warner.

GOD I NEVER THOUGHT I’D SAY THAT.

TOO MUCH. TOO MANY EMOTIONS. IT HURTS.

I mean I THINK she’ll end up with Adam just because he was her first love or whatever. (The third book isn’t out yet so I have no idea). BUT I WANT HER TO END UP WITH WARNER. BUT THEN AGAIN.

NOPE.

I ACTUALLY WANT ONE OF THE GUYS TO DIE THEN IT’LL BE AN EASIER DECISION. Adam dying would SUCK, but Warner dying would TEAR ME APART. I CAn’T. I haven’t read a book in so long where I had to pick a side of the love triangle. It’s been so long. This hurts. Can I just not pick a side. Man, I don’t know what to do. Tahereh will think of something, I’ll leave it up to her.

TOO TRUE THIS GIF TOO TRUE.

So what do I actually think of this book? Yes, it had VERY weird writing but man I am HOOKED on this series. The first two were SO GOOD. I mean it kind of had an unexpected twist and change in the way of plot but it was perfect in the first book. It’s what I wanted. I actually love this series. IT MAKES ME FEEL SO MUCH. I had to take a break during the second book and read two books in between. Whoo, too much, TOO MUCH.

So I think I’ve said all I set out to say.

Out of five stars, Shatter Me gets…

*drumroll*

FIVE!

Leave a Reply

